Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Archives at Lehigh University: Archives Profession

Library guide for identifying, understanding and using archival collections, including personal papers, organizational and institutional records; primary and secondary sources.

Professional Organizations

- Archives Profession
-- "People come to the archival profession for many reasons—to tell the story of a community, preserve a piece of history, hold people and institutions accountable, improve access through technology, connect researchers with the documents they need, and more. Archivists work wherever it is important to retain the records of people or organizations, including universities, large corporations, libraries and museums, government institutions, hospitals, historical societies, and religious communities. They work with digital documents, rare manuscripts, analog film, letters, postcards, diaries, photographs, organizational records—and that’s just the start of it." Society of American Archivists

-- "Archivists are specially trained in preserving the original material and helping people obtain it. Archivists work with paper documents, photographs, maps, films, and computer records. Many begin their careers as historians and then attend classes to learn from experienced archivists. Archivists possess broad, deep knowledge about records and are involved in many, if not all, phases of the records life cycle. Their extensive research and analysis skills help in serving records to the public." NARA National Archives and Records Administration (USA)

Professional Organizations:
- International:

International Council on Archives

- National:
Society of American Archivists

- Regional:
MARAC (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference)
NEA (New England Archivists)
MAC (Midwest Archives Conference)
SSA (Society of Southwest Archivists)
Northwest Archivists

Local:
(Museum and Library Alliance) M&LA of Lehigh Valley

Archivists Codes of Ethics

Archival work routinely involves complex issues of confidentiality and privacy. The International Council on Archives and the Society of American Archivists have published Codes of Ethics as guides for practicing archivists dealing with these issues. They are linked below:

International Council on Archives Code of Ethics

Society of American Archivists Code of Ethics for Archivists

Archives Related Podcasts

An Archivist's Tale: Archivists in conversation with archivists, discussing their work and passions and how they care for the historical record and present the storied past. Hosted by husband and wife team Karen Trivette and Geof Huth.

The Last Archive: In The Last Archive, acclaimed historian Jill Lepore traces the history of evidence, proof, and knowledge, in troubled epistemological times. From archives and libraries to interrogation rooms and evidence vaults, Lepore takes listeners around the country--and across the passage of time--in search of an answer to the question: Who killed truth?

99% Invisible: Ever wonder how inflatable men came to be regular fixtures at used car lots? Curious about the origin of the fortune cookie? Want to know why Sigmund Freud opted for a couch over an armchair? 99% Invisible is about all the thought that goes into the things we don’t think about — the unnoticed architecture and design that shape our world.

Chronicles of Now: The Chronicles of Now uses fiction to offer a new way of understanding the headlines, stories, and people shaping our world. We commission major authors to write short stories inspired by news of the day. We pair those fictional works with essential sidebars that explain the basic facts, background, and context for each news story. We conclude each package with a curated list of essential long-form journalism, podcasts, and videos on the subject for those who want to dig deeper.

Archival Research