Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Archives at Lehigh University: Papers and Manuscripts

Library guide for identifying, understanding and using archival collections, including personal papers, organizational and institutional records; primary and secondary sources.

Personal Papers

Special Collections holds personal papers of persons of local, regional, national and international significance. Some of the most consulted collections are

Anna Pongracz Papers
Blair Birdsall Papers
George C. Izenour Collections
Harvey Bassler Papers
J. Mark Frey Papers
Leslie H. Whitten Papers
William L. Estes, Jr., Papers

Selected Lehigh Faculty Papers are also archived in Special Collections as evidence of significant research conducted at Lehigh. Some examples are:
Benjamin L. Miller Papers SC MS 0014
Philip M. Palmer Papers
Percy Hughes, Publications and Papers

Carl F. Strauch Papers
C.C. Hsiung Papers
 

Family Papers

Berman Family Archives: Philip Isaac Berman and Muriel Mallin Berman, husband and wife – the "amazing Bermans" as they were often called – worked together as a team throughout the fifty-five years of their marriage, in raising their family, managing their businesses, making frequent trips abroad, collecting art, and planning philanthropy. This biographical sketch is therefore an account, not of one person alone, but of two together, who devoted a great deal of their astonishing energy and considerable fortune to philanthropy and public service, in their home city of Allentown, their home state of Pennsylvania, and around the world, especially in Israel.

Rodale Family Archives: This large collection contains documents, publications, recordings, memorabilia and other material produced by J.I. and Anna Rodale, Robert and Ardath Rodale, and their children, Rodale Press, Rodale Institute and Rodale Inc., pioneers of healthy living and eating, running, bicycling, exercising, fitness, organic gardening and farming, based in Emmaus (Pa.) Collection is still being processed, access is limited. Contact Special Collections for access and use questions.

Records of Ludwig and Erwin Loewy: The Ludwig and Erwin Loewy Records contains correspondence, photographs, blueprints, magazines, clippings, ephemera, artifacts, books, speeches, staff memoranda, reports, corporate histories, and family passports, 1928-1959. Loewy Brothers left Czechoslovakia before the WWII began and Ludwig went to London and Erwin came to the USA and developed Loewy Hydropress for metal shaping (specifically aluminum extrusion). This innovation helped lighter and faster fighter air planes that gave the US Air Force decisive advantage over Axis alliance.

Struckmann and Norvig Families Collection -- This collection documenting two families emigrated from Denmark to Nazareth (Pa.) and became related by marriage, and involved Portland cement industry of Lehigh Valley. There are also related documents at the National Museum of Industrial History.

Wetherill Family: The collection contains 25 documents including 11 letters, a petition encouraging the building of a canal on the Schuylkill River, four receipts, an invoice, an expense ordinance, two pages of proxies, three public notices from Lehigh Coal and Navigation Co., two printed publications, and one map.

Liscom Family Papers: The collection contains an assortment of 129 pieces of ephemera including 28 letters with 21 envelopes, ten business cards of bridge building companies, five postcards of New England bridges and a locomotive, eleven photographs (seven cyanotype, four black & white/sepia), two sketches bridges, four personal notes/lists, 20 bridge toll coupons, three bridge building contracts, four booklets and one bridge blueprint.