Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Archives at Lehigh University: Audio-Visual Collections

Library guide for identifying, understanding and using archival collections, including personal papers, organizational and institutional records; primary and secondary sources.

Audio-Visual Collections Overview

 

            

 

Collections

Sound recordings
Reel-to-reel tapes:

  • Lehigh Forum Sound Recordings:

Audio-Cassettes: A small collection of audio recordings of commencement, Founder's Day addresses, lectures, etc.
Godfrey Daniels Archives
 

Video Recordings and Motion Pictures
Lehigh Video Tape Collection
Leo-Arthur Kelmenson Chrysler Advertising Materials Archive
Archibald Johnston Family Home Films

Compact Disks and CD-ROMs

Scrapbooks
Lehigh scrapbooks: Assembled by students, alumni, departments and offices, these scrapbooks contain extremely rare ephemera, photographs, clipping, and documents. The date range is 1860s to 1970s. Most of these scrapbooks have been cataloged in the Library's online catalog ASA. The earliest Lehigh scrapbook is from 1866-1871 assembled by one of the first graduates: Scrapbook of William D. Ronaldson, Class of 1870

Some other examples are:
Albert Wayne Chenoweth Scrapbook, 1892-1987
Charles E. Clapp Scrapbook, 1882-1886
Lehigh Music Festival Scrapbook (1949)
Lehigh Athletics Scrapbooks, 1914-1951
Lehigh Art Exhibits Scrapbooks: 1928-194
correspondence, clippings, flyers, posters and brochures about art exhibits took place in the Library Art Gallery (now Linderman Library Bayer Galleria)
Mustard and Cheese Drama Club Scrapbook


Special Collections also holds a numerous scrapbooks with historic content:
General Lafayette's tour of the United States in 1824
Gold Discoveries Scrapbook, 1848-1852: A scrapbook contains a collection of nineteenth century published information about gold discoveries, mining, economical influence and transportation around the world, including Australia, Panama, Chile and California.
Don Ritter Scrapbooks: 13 volumes of oversize scrapbooks documenting Ritter's time as Congressman, 1979-1993. (in Don Ritter Papers SC MS 0110)

Newspaper Clippings: Collected by Media Relations Dept. mostly through "clipping agencies", 1970s - 1990s (in University Archives collection)

 

 

Photographs, Slides and Albums

Photographs and Albums
Lehigh Photograph Collection

Postcard Collection
Stereograph Collection

Other photographic collections and albums: Special Collections holds numerous historic photograph collections and albums on various topics, such as civil and structural engineering, construction of bridges and dams, public works, mines and mining, and pictorial works related to geographic locations, like Lehigh Valley, Philadelphia, Bronx (New York), Juragua (Cuba), Civil War, Mustard and Cheese Drama Club, Lehigh Music Festival.

Oral Histories

Lehigh University Traditions and Experiences: Oral history interview prepared for Public History course. Topics include coeducation, Lehigh sports, theater, music and band.

 

Oral History Collections in Beyod Steel
"Women of Bethlehem Steel"
"In the Age of Steel; Oral Histories from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania"

 

Collection of oral history interviews with Lehigh alumni, faculty, staff and retired librarians Contact Special Collections for more information about this "on-going project". (2005-2020)