Local History Collections at Lehigh
Lehigh University Libraries holds a wide range of material related to its own history and its geographical surroundings. These materials include privately printed brochures and pamphlets, essays and books, manuscripts, master's theses and doctoral dissertations, local and federal government records and publications, audio-visual recordings, blueprints, site plans, reports, maps and born-digital files. Starting with a simple ASA Library Catalog subject search, for example, "Lehigh University -- History" or "Bethlehem (Pa.) -- History" can reveal variety of useful titles. Many of these titles might be on open stacks and might be checked out; contact Special Collections to discuss how to access restricted material.
Some of the unique local history collections:
Bethlehem Housing Authority Records, 1943-1963
Bethlehem Redevelopment Authority Records, 1953-1999
Bethlehem Police Department Records, 1916-1949
Lehigh Pocono Committee of Concern LEPOCO Archives, 1965-2000s
South Bethlehem Historical Society Archives, 1860s-1990s
- Local History Guide - 1984This guide was created by librarians in 1984 contains valid information on core titles about Lehigh Valley history. Please note that there have been so many newer titles published since 1984.
Digital Local History at Lehigh
All items and titles are available open access and full-text.
Local History: Scrapbooks, pamphlets, booklets, city anniversaries, other historical material related to Lehigh Valley.
Lehigh Valley Geology: Geological and economical histories of Lehigh and Northampton Counties, by Prof. Benjamin L. Miller. These two titles published in 1942 and they still are the top authoritative works on economical geology of Lehigh Valley. Miller covered topics from the Ice Age to cement and mining industries to the first ice cream and pretzel makers of the area.
Lehigh Valley Rail Road Land Documents: The collection contains approximately 384 documents (deeds, titles, indentures, correspondence and leases) for anthracite coal lands, 40 envelopes, 20 maps, two pamphlets, one photogravure, and one large colored "painting."
Lehigh Valley Rail Road Annual Reports: 1863-1941 -- Board of Directors' annual reports to the share holders.
Lehigh Coal and Navigation Company Records: 1826-1940s -- Maps, technical drawings, reports, broadsides and other documents by LCNC.
Lehigh Valley Academic Independent Colleges (LVAIC) Libraries
Lehigh Valley Academic Independent Colleges: Since 1969, the Lehigh Valley Association of Independent College’s success has been founded on the principle of collaboration. Our unique consortium, one of the oldest in the country, consists of 6 member colleges and universities in the Lehigh Valley, as well as 6 associate member institutions in the eastern Pennsylvania region.
Each LVAIC college library holds unique collections about their institutions and Lehigh Valley history.
Cedar Crest College - Cressman Library
DeSales University - Trexler Library
Lafayette College Library
Lehigh University Libraries
Moravian College - Reeves Library
Muhlenberg College - Trexler Library
Local History Repositories
- Museum and Library Alliance of Lehigh Valley: Alliance of academic and public libraries, museums, art galleries, historical societies in Lehigh Valley. Member institutions hold local history collections and often work on collaborative projects.
- Bethlehem Public Library Local History: Collections and information tools to learn to about Bethlehem's rich and diverse history.
- Easton Public Library Marx Room holds the largest genealogical resources in Northeast Pennsylvania along with other local history material.
- Delaware & Lehigh National Heritage Corridor - National Canal Museum is dedicated to telling the story of America’s historic towpath canals.
- National Museum of Industrial History: The National Museum of Industrial History in Bethlehem, Pa., is dedicated to preserving America’s rich industrial heritage. It is located in a 100-year-old former Bethlehem Steel facility on the largest private brownfield in America.
- Northampton County Historical and Genealogical Society at Sigal Museum is leading institution of local history, and home to significant collections of pre-European settlement artifacts, decorative arts, textiles, farming implements, colonial furniture, and much more.
- Lehigh County Historical Society at Lehigh Valley Heritage Museum is one of Pennsylvania's most significant archives that hoses resource material, such as books, maps, newspapers, photographs, oral histories, church and social records, personal and family papers, business documents and numerous county records.