Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Archives at Lehigh University: Locating Other Archival Resources

Library guide for identifying, understanding and using archival collections, including personal papers, organizational and institutional records; primary and secondary sources.

PAARP Philadelphia Area Archives Research Portal

PAARP is regional finding aid consortium administered by PACSCL Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries. Lehigh University has been a PACSCL member, participates actively in PACSCL's grant funded cataloging and digitization projects, and contributes its finding aids to the consortium web site.

Lehigh collections in PAARP

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid, a union catalog of archival collections, provides access to nearly a million collection descriptions and online archival finding aids of archival material from more than 2,500 libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives around the world. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories. Users can obtain more information on many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

Lehigh University Libraries is one of the participants and most of our archival holdings are represented in the ArchiveGrid.

NUCMC National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections

The mission of the NUCMC program is to provide and promote bibliographic access to the nation's documentary heritage. This mission is realized by NUCMC production of cataloging describing archival and manuscript collections held by eligible repositories located throughout the United States and its territories.

WorldCat

Worldcat is a network of libraries.  Going to "Advanced Search" and limiting by format will point you to archival materials from many different types of repositories around the world.