Library Guides: Energy Systems Engineering: Reports & Data

Organizations & Databases for Technical Reports

EPRI (Electric Power Research Institute)
Reports commissioned by EPRI. Often restricted to EPRI members but some are available free to the public.

OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
Replacing SciTech Connect, OSTI.gov is a search tool from the Dept. of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It includes citations and some full text of journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
Serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text of OECD Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. 1998 to present.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
NREL is the nation's primary laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development (R&D).

U.S. Energy Information Administration
Extensive in-depth collection of energy related data for the US with some international data. Much of it is in summary form but the data sources are listed and often available separately. The Monthly Energy Review is the monthly update for the "popular" data. An array of specialized reports is available, including the Electric Power Annual.
UN Statistical Division - Energy Statistics
Collects energy statistics from more than 190 countries and updates and maintains the Energy Statistics Database. The statistics cover production, trade, transformation and final consumption (end-use) for a range of primary and secondary energy products derived from conventional and non-conventional or renewable energy sources.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Energy Central Professional This link opens in a new window
Access to curated newsfeeds and databases on the energy industry. Energy industry databases include: Investor Owned Utility, M&A, and Power Plant. Unlimited accounts - request from the Engineering Librarian or service@energycentral.com
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
(Formally known as Data Planet)
Search and browse through 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 75 public and private sources covering sixteen subject areas, focused on social sciences.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Please note: MarketLine Advantage is now Global Data Explorer.
Covers: 30,000+ companies, 3,500+ Industry Profiles, 110 Country Profiles and Country Statistics Database covering 215 countries, Annual coverage of 50,000+ financial deals
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more from communities across the US