Library Guides: History: Books and Media

Using WorldCat

Use WorldCat to find materials in other libraries.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a comprehensive library catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Integrated features include a link to ASA, Lehigh's Library Catalog, an interlibrary loan request form, Library of Congress Subject Headings, library holdings and powerful search options for language, place of publication, material type, etc. Includes records representing 400 languages.

Interlibrary Loan

Need to request a copy of a book that's not available at Lehigh? Use Interlibrary Loan to have books sent here. You will get an email when your book is ready for pickup.

Google Books

Try your luck searching the full text of books using Google Books... perhaps the book you need is out of copyright and available in its entirety online. Also the full text searching capability of Google Books might identify something useful that you can get here at Lehigh or borrow through PALCI or Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Hathi Trust

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized books and other materials from major U.S. research libraries.
Search for known items or by keyword. Not all resources in the catalog are accessible online. Printing and downloads are limited. This is a great source of pre-1922 materials.

Media and Video

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
More than video: a collection of newsreels, archives, public affairs footage, and documentaries, both commercial and government sponsored.

LOC National Screening Room
Free historic motion pictures available to stream and download. The National Screening Room, a project from the Library of Congress, makes unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide.
more...less...
Notable films include home movies by the songwriters George and Ira Gershwin; issues of the “All-American News,” a newsreel intended for black audiences in the mid-20th century; and a selection of instructional films about mental health from the 1950s.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Contains individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, including ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN.
British Pathe'
British Pathé is one of the oldest media companies in the world. They were established in London in 1902. Whereas all professional usages still require a licence fee but they do offer free "preview" facilities on this site.
more...less...
, and by 1910 were producing their famous bi-weekly newsreel the Pathé Gazette. After the First World War they started producing various Cinemagazines as well. By 1930 they were producing the Gazette, the Pathetone Weekly, the Pathé Pictorial and Eve's Film Review, covering entertainment, culture and womens' issues.
Life Photo Archive Via Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Louisiana Public Broadcasting: Folks
LPB has made 210 episodes of Folks, a minority affairs program that aired from 1981-1990, freely available for streaming here on the LDMA. The series highlighted issues related to African Americans and other minority groups in Louisiana, as well as lighter stories highlighting the state’s unique culture.

History

Research Assistance

Using WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Google Books

Hathi Trust

Media and Video

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift