Library Guides: History: News Archives

Newspaper Archives

Google News Archive
Free access to newspapers digitized by Google, including many historical papers. May not be full runs.
List of Online Newspaper Archives (Wikipedia)
Includes U.S. and international newspapers (19th and 20th century).

Coverage of multiple newspapers:

African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper coverage of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized versions (usually from microfilm copies) of newspapers from most American states, some with many issues and some with only a few.
Produced by the Library of Congress, covers 1836 - 1922
Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900 This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers, focusing on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically.
Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series II also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full-text contents for hundreds of 19th century U.S. papers, 1800-1899.
Dates vary for individual newspapers, however the entire database covers 1800-1899

Coverage of individual newspapers:

New York Times (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Covers Sept. 18, 1851 to 3 years before the current year
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that covers the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that covers the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.

America's Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text content of over 650 U.S. newspapers.
Can be searched individually or as multiple titles. Interface is capable of searching the full-text, or limiting to headline, date, author, topic or section of the article record. The papers are updated daily, however the archive depth varies by newspaper.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.

International Newspaper Archives (Library of Congress)
Selective list of historical and archived newspapers from around the world.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
More than video: a collection of newsreels, archives, public affairs footage, and documentaries, both commercial and government sponsored.

British Pathe Archives
Contains audio clips of news, sports, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970s. Still frames or "storyboards of clips" are free, but registration is required for the free previews.
CBC Digital Archives
Contains a selection of radio and television clips from the Archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).
Internet Archive: TV News
Created by the Internet Archive this project brings together over 577,000 news broadcasts of various origins since 2009. Useful to students of communications, media, and related fields. Visitors can search all of the captions from each program on the homepage or look at the Recent Extracted Topics word cloud.
National Public Broadcasting and Library of American Broadcasting
The University of Maryland's Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Contains individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, including ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN.

CBC Digital Archives
Contains a selection of radio and television clips from the Archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).
National Public Broadcasting and Library of American Broadcasting
The University of Maryland's Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).

History

Newspaper Archives

Television and Radio Archives

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift