Library Guides: History: Statistics and Data

Statistical Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Extensive source of historical quantitative data about the U.S. in downloadable and customizable form.
U.S. statistics on topics as diverse as economics and trade, history, climate, demographics, education, government, finance, law natural resources, business, religion, migration and sociology will find data organized and contextualized by experts in the field.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text of OECD Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. 1998 to present.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present, containing poll questions and answers, datasets, and survey questionnaires from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations from both U.S. and international polling firms.
To access without logging in to iPoll, use http://login.ezproxy.lib.lehigh.edu/login?qurl=https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/ipoll/
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create custom maps and reports. Covers 1790 to present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

U.S. Census Bureau
Contains statistical demographic and economic information about the United States population.

U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Note: American FactFinder decommissioned in 2020.

U.S. Data and Statistics
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government with convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information.
A New Nation Votes:American Election returns from 1787-1825
A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Statistical Abstract
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For 2011+, consult the ProQuest Statistical Abstract (FM-2-DOC- R 317.3 U58sa).

Statistical Abstract of the United States. 317.3 U58s (Government Documents Reference area) Annual. Library has 1878-date.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. 304.6072 C749 (Government Documents Reference area)
Statistical Yearbook. (UNESCO) 312.9 U589s FM Library. Most recent in Reference area. 1963-date. Data on education, culture, etc.
Demographic Yearbook. (U.N.) 312.058 D383 FM Library. Most recent in Reference 1948-date.
International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 316 M681i FM Reference
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000. 314 M681e FM Reference
International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-1998. 317 M681i FM Referece
State, Economy, and Society in Western Europe, 1815 -1975: a data handbook.309.14 S797 FM Reference
World Almanac 317.3 W927 FM library, most recent in Reference. Library has 1886 - to present; a nearly complete run.

Located in the Government Documents, Reference Area under call number: 317.3 U584

Located in the Government Documents, Reference Area under call number: 317.3 U58

Located in the Government Documents Stacks under the Superintendent of Documents Number: