Library Guides: International Relations: Statistics and Data

Statistical Databases

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
(Formally known as Data Planet)
Search and browse through 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 75 public and private sources covering sixteen subject areas, focused on social sciences.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest archive of computer-readable social science data. As a member institution, Lehigh faculty and students have direct and free access to download data. The data resources include but are not limited to surveys of values, attitudes, health, race and religion, political exit polls and voting behavior, data on crime, and consumer income.
As a member institution, Lehigh faculty and students have direct and free access to download data. The data resources include but are not limited to surveys of values, attitudes, health, race and religion, political exit polls and voting behavior, data on crime, and consumer income.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present, containing poll questions and answers, datasets, and survey questionnaires from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations from both U.S. and international polling firms.
To access without logging in to iPoll, use http://login.ezproxy.lib.lehigh.edu/login?qurl=https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/ipoll/
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development,OECD iLibary is a database which provides full-text online for all OECD monographs and reports, twenty-four periodicals, a reference title and the OECD statistical databases. Some of the many statistical databases available include Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts Statistics.
Statista This link opens in a new window
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create custom maps and reports. Covers 1790 to present.
UNData This link opens in a new window
Find international statistics collected by the United Nations and related organizations.

Statistical Resources By Topic

Paul Hensel's International Relations Data Site
Extremely useful portal designed to include the most useful data sources on processes of international conflict and cooperation, as well as data covering international economic, environmental, political, and social data and data on similar topics for the United States.
International Programs Data
Maintained by the Bureau of the Census, this database provides demographic data for selected indicators, countries and user-selected regions, and years, population statistics, and summary data, population pyramids and access to more data for a single country.
NationMaster
Designed by a web publishing company in Australia, this site gathers statistics from a variety of sources, mostly international agencies, and presents them in an easy-to-use and interesting graphical formats.

World Bank Data This link opens in a new window
Development statistics by country, topic and indicators. Includes data visualization and analysis tools and downloadable files.

International Debt Statistics
"Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases). Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2011, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2019."
World Development Indicators
Data on poverty, health, education, gender and environment as well as a comprehensive view of the world economy from the World Bank. Coverage 1960 -
World Development Reports
The World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is an invaluable guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year the WDR provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development. Past reports have considered such topics as the role of the state, transition economies, labor, infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty. " 1979- 2008 in print at 330.91724 W9271 FM-3-North. Recent editions on the Web with some exceptions.
Gapminder
A non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The site includes moving graphics that display development trends by the countries, time periods, and indicators you choose.

Center for Systemic Peace
The Center continually monitors political behavior in each of the world's major states, that is, all those with current populations greater than 500,000 (167 countries in 2014) and reports on emerging issues and persisting conditions related to the problems of political violence and "state failure." The Center also tracks baseline conditions and charts general trends in societal-system performance at the global, regional and state levels of analysis in the key dimensions of social conflict, governance, and sustainable human/physical development.
more...less...
Specific Projects include: Global conflict Trends, State Fragility Index and War List, Global Trends in Governance, The Polity project datasets and more
Worldwide Governance Indicators
Reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 215 economies over the period 1996–2012, for six dimensions of governance.
more...less...
Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption
Freedom House: Freedom in the World
Freedom House’s annual country-by-country report on global political rights and civil liberties.

Global Poverty Mapping Project
The Global Poverty Mapping Project has downloadable poverty data sets and maps. The Poverty Mapping Project is sponsored by CIESIN (The Center for International Earth Science Information Network) at the Earth Institute, Columbia University.
Human Development Reports
The UN Human Development office publishes global, regional and national human development reports. Human Development Report's primary purpose is to assess the state of human development across the globe and provide a critical analysis of a specific theme each year. It combines thematic policy analysis with detailed country data that focus on human well-being, not just economic trends.

International Relations

Statistical Databases

Statistical Resources By Topic

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift