Skip to main content

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

ebooks

Finding Lehigh's Ebooks

ereader device on table next to cup of teaThe library has access to a large and increasing number of ebooks.. Many of these ebooks may have material that can be used as supplementary course readings. It is also possible that your main course texts are available in ebook form through the Libraries. 

This guide will provide an overview of the different collections available and includes additional information on using digital content such as open resources, articles, or electronic course reserves, in your course.


Ways to find ebooks 

  • Search the library catalog. Instructions.
  • Consult the library's ebook databases. Use the search capabilities these databases provide to look up ebooks related to your subject of interest.  
  • Lehigh provides electronic access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works that provide background information for your research. See the subject library guides for ideas about appropriate resources. Or, contact your subject librarian.


For faculty: using ebooks as textbooks or other course materials

Using Lehigh's subscriptions to ebooks is a way for your students to save money on textbook!  Also, see the library's guide on Open Educational Resources..

Free online eBook providers

Typically, purchasing eBooks is nearly as costly as buying a new copy of the print version. There are, however, quite a few resources on the open web where you can find free eBooks, particularly titles whose copyright has expired and now reside in the public domain.

HathiTrust - A partnership of academic and research institutions;  offers a collection of millions of titles, most in public domain, digitized from libraries around the world. 

Project Gutenberg - A digital library of free eBooks in the public domain. Most items are available to read online, as kindle files, and as EPUB files.

Bartleby - Publishes thousands of free online classics.

Archive.org - Offer over 8 million freely accessible eBooks. 

Amazon*- Many public domain titles are available for free as Kindle or online reads. Try searching "free classics." You will need to sign in to an Amazon account to access these titles. 

Google Books* - The world's most comprehensive database of digitized books, some of which have full-text access, and many of which have partial-text access.

(*While these can be great resources, please be aware that the quality of the digitized items can be poor.)