Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Ebooks

Lehigh's archival/historical texts

Lehigh also has many different digitized collections of historical materials, both in terms of  early and/or rare books and of book-length materials related to Lehigh and local history. Below is a list of some of these collections.

  • Early American Imprints, 1636-1800 - Provides access to primary sources covering nearly ever aspect of early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, politics, and every day life. Coverage from 1639 to 1800. 
  • Early American Imprints, 1801-1819 - Features books, pamphlets, broadsides, state papers and other government materials, presidential letters and messages, and congressional, state and territorial resolutions.
  • Beyond Steel: An Archive of Lehigh Valley Industry and Culture - Highlights the Lehigh Valley's mid nineteenth-century book through late twentieth-century decline and the continuing community readjustment, and includes letters, maps, and oral histories in addition to books. 
  • The Problem of the Planets - Includes a digital collection of early astronomy books, such as On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Spheres by Copernicus and Instruments for the Restoration of Astronomy by Tycho Brahe.
  • Books from The Vault at Pfaffs - Brings together art and literature from the United States' first self-described bohemians, including a digital third edition of Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass.