Skip to Main Content

Students Faculty Staff Visitors

Chemistry

Background Information/Reference/Data Sources

Elsevier Reference Works (and books)

There are various ways to search this extensive collection:

Click here. Click on the magnifying glass at the top, put in a search term. On the left of the search results, look for where you can restrict to (e.g.) encyclopedia.
Click here. You can refine by Domain on the left, or click on the Advanced Search link (center near top)
Click here for journal/book searching
Topic Pages

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics (print)

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Chemical processes: discovery/invention, properties, production techniques, economics, environment, regulation. Includes extensive bibliographies. Access through 2024.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (electronic)

Access Science
Online encyclopedia and dictionary for the sciences. Includes biographies, images and animations, and videos.

CASSI
"The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This complimentary resource can be used to quickly and easily look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907."

eLS

Formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, this resource from Wiley contains over 5000 peer-reviewed articles. Access through 2024.
SciFinder-n

Major resource for chemistry research. Allows for searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here.

ChemSpider
"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources."
PubChem: "Explore Chemistry"
"Quickly find chemical information from authoritative sources." (National Library of Medicine)
Reliability of Wikipedia
Wikipedia article about the Reliability of Wikipedia.

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2025 3:04 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.lehigh.edu/chemistry
Print Page

Subjects: Chemistry

Tags: chemistry