Library Guides: EES 325 Fall 2023: Finding Scholarly Articles

Article Databases

The library has a large number of databases about a wide variety of subjects.. Below are just a few of the databases that you can use. Talk to the science librarian for further ideas.

Tips:

Try Web of Science and GeoRef (see below for links.) Do a search on a topic that relates to your topic, then find some relevant articles. Look for rticles that cite the article, the article’s own cited references, and related items.

You can also use Google Scholar. So that you see Lehigh Links to full text if you are off-campus, go the hamburger icon upper left, then select settings, then library links. Type in Lehigh and save. (Tip: use the Advanced Search feature, available by clicking on the hamburger, to give your search focus.)

The library has many subject library guides. For example, there are subject guides for earth sciences, biology, and chemistry. These may give you ideas about further databases to search for articles and information, especially if your topic spans different fields.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geosciences database covering journals, books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Has "GeoRef in Process", which includes references possibly not yet indexed or finalized.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Electrical, electronic, and computer engineering journals and conferences from the IEEE and IET; full text. Also includes IEEE standards.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Complete access to SPIE journals and proceedings (not eBooks). SPIE is the international society for optics and photonics.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources. Try out the advanced search screen by clicking on the downward arrow that appears to the right of the search box.
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, go to Settings, then Library links, then type in Lehigh University. If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.)

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Major resource for chemistry research. Many capabilities it provides includes searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information.
The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

Have citation, find article!

If you have a citation *to* that you found *within* an article (for example, in a footnote to article that you are reading), how can you locate the article?

See the tutorial Have Citation, Get Article here.

You can use the Full Text Finder to see if Lehigh has access to a specific article or journal.

Also, you can use the library catalog to look up the journal title, then see if we have the specific article electronically or in print.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

EES 325 Fall 2023

Off Campus Access To Library Resources

Article Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Have citation, find article!