Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Brown and White
Brown & White
Lehigh University's student newspaper published from 1894 to present. The Digital Brown & White covers 1894 to May 2020. Current issues are available online.
Gender in Policy and Practice by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-10-23
This book exposes the complexity of single-sex schooling, and sheds new light on how gender operates in policy and practice in education. The essays collected in this volume cover a wide range of institutions, including K-12 and higher education, public and private schools, and schools in the US and beyond.
Learning Together by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 1992-12-03
This award-winning book provides a comprehensive history of gender policies and practices in American public schools. David Tyack and Elisabeth Hansot explore the many factors that have shaped coeducation since its origins.
Separate by Degree by
Call Number: 378.1982 M652s
Publication Date: 2000-05-04
In the nineteenth century, women's colleges provided many women with access to higher education, yet Susan B. Anthony and other women connected to the women's rights movement favored coeducation. In the late twentieth century, at a time that many single-sex institutions became coeducational, research has indicated the benefits for women of single-sex education. Separate by Degree compares the experiences of women students, in the past as well as in contemporary times...
Going Coed by
Call Number: 378.1982 G615
Publication Date: 2004
Includes an essay by Mary Frances Donley Forcier. "'Men of Dartmouth' and 'The Lady Engineers': Coeducation at Dartmouth College and Lehigh University."
Keep the Damned Women Out by
Call Number: 371.822 M251k
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
A groundbreaking history of how elite colleges and universities in America and Britain finally went coed As the tumultuous decade of the 1960s ended, a number of very traditional, very conservative, highly prestigious colleges and universities in the United States and the United Kingdom decided to go coed, seemingly all at once, in a remarkably brief span of time. Coeducation met with fierce resistance. As one alumnus put it in a letter to his alma mater, "Keep the damned women out."
Articles, Theses, Reports, Surveys, and Manuscript Collections
Articles about women at Lehigh:
Theses and Dissertations:
In order to request the following materials, look up these titles in ASA, and copy and paste the link next to the call number into your browser:
Final Report of the University Goals Committee, May 1969. Available in print only, Special Collections, SC LPub 0041
- Manuscript Collections available in Special Collections:
- Joint Commission on University Life. CURE (Committee of Undergraduates for Responsible Education): Documents on Problem of Coeducation, 1968-1970.
- Finding aid
- Call Number: SC MS 0029.
- Oral Histories about Lehigh University Traditions and Experiences:
- This collection consists of fourteen student oral history projects related to Lehigh University. The course (History 303) was taught by Professor Kim Carrell-Smith in the Fall semester of 2003. Through the course, the students studied the standards of oral histories and as a final project interviewed Lehigh alumni, staff and faculty about Lehigh University, its history, traditions and experiences. Included in the interviews is one by Kim McNeil, “The History of Undergraduate women at Lehigh.”
- Finding aid
- Call Number: SC MS 0112
- Percy Hughes publications and papers (1872-1952):
- This collection contains photographs, correspondence, family documents, memorabilia, newspaper clippings, books and academic articles, and reprints on Philosophy, Psychology, Education, Higher Education, Sports Education, and Lehigh University by Percy Hughes who was a Lehigh professor and taught Philosophy, Psychology and Education, and was a lifelong friend of John Dewey. Percy Hughes lobbied for undergraduate coeducation, after helping to pass a measure allowing women to take graduate courses at Lehigh in 1918.
- Finding aid
- Call Number: SC MS 0111
Timeline of Women at Lehigh
Coeducation at Lehigh - Archival files in Lehigh Vertical File Collection
Contains archival documents about Lehigh's decision to go "coed" in 1971 -- a Women's survival guide, 1978 -- clippings related the first women in Lehigh's band, Marching 97, in 1973 -- flyer, 1981, on the first 10 years of women at Lehigh -- material celebrating 25 years of undergraduate women (1996-97). Part II contains official documents, correspondence, meeting minutes, etc. about decision making process of Lehigh going coed in 1971. Part III contains "Lehigh and the problem of coeducation" -- "Coeducation Timeline" by Kelli Oliver, 2010 -- "When Lehigh was almost Co-Ed" clipping from Alumni Bulletin, January 1934 --
Request to see this collection