Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Lehigh History: Citing Archival Materials

Celebrating Lehigh's Sesquicentennial Anniversary, 2015-2016

Citing Archival Materials

I. Vertical Files

I.A. Item in a vertical file:

Title of the item. Date (if applicable). Title of the vertical file. Vertical file call number. Repository information

Example:

[Baseball score card (circa 1899)]. Sports--Baseball (Lehigh Collection Vertical File). Call number: SC LVF S7667. Special Collections, Lehigh University, Linderman Library, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

I.B. Entire Vertical File Folder

Title of the vertical file. Date (if applicable). Vertical file call number. Repository information

Example:

Alumni Memorial Building (Lehigh Collection Vertical File) 1923-2009. Call number: SC LVF A623. Special Collections, Lehigh University, Linderman Library, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

 

II. Manuscript Collections (file folders in gray boxes)

[Identification of item], Title of the Collection, Call Number, Special Collections, Linderman Library, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA

Example:

[Lacrosse, Box 1, Folder 3] Sports History at Lehigh University Collected by H.R. (Bosey) Reiter in 1941, Call No. SC MS 0015, Special Collections, Linderman Library, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

 

III. Online Resources

III.A. The Brown and White (newspaper)

Last, First M(iddle). "Article Title." Newspaper Title (City). Date Month Year Published: Page(s). Website Title. Web. Date Month Year Accessed.

Examples:

“The Holiday Tour of the Musical Organizations.” The Brown and White (Bethlehem, Pa.). 16 January 1894: v.1, no.1, p.1. The Brown and White: An Archive of Lehigh University’s Student Newspaper, 1894-2012. Web. Accessed: September 23, 2013.

Or

Bhuiyan, Johana. “Shabazz Speaks at MLK Convocation.” The Brown and White. 24 January 2012: v.122, no.1, p.1. Web. Accessed: September 23, 2013.

 

III.B. Epitome (Yearbook)

Title. Publisher (Publishing class). City : Date of the Publication. Website Title. Web. Date Month Year Accessed.

The Epitome 1907 [Yearbook].[Sophomore] Class of 1909. Lehigh University, Bethlehem (Pa.) : 1907. Internet Archive. Web. Accessed: 23 September 2013.

 

III.C. Course Catalogs.

Title. Publisher. City. Date. Website Title. Web. Date Month Year Accessed.

Catalog (1962-1963). Bethlehem (Pa.), Lehigh University : 1962. Internet Archive. Web. Accessed: 23 September 2013.