Materials Science & Engineering: Assistance, Best Bets and Services

Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources. 
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, go to Settings, then Library links. Type in Lehigh University and select the check box next to “Lehigh University - Lehigh Links.” If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via other access or interlibrary loan.)

Source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Includes 30 ASM Handbook volumes, supplements with searchable tabular data.

Current issues with off-campus access using EZ Proxy. ASTM produces engineering and technical standards; the database includes its standards, journals, and Special Technical Publications. Our subscription also includes ISO/IEC standards as adopted under the UNE designation. Through June 2024, access to all original, unadopted ISO standards is available. Thereafter, our access will be limited down to 50 original, unadopted ISO standards. Create an account to create favorites, track updates, and more.

Replacing SciTech Connect, OSTI.gov is a search tool from the Dept. of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It includes citations and some full text of journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today.