It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Urban Archives documents the social, economic, and physical development of the Philadelphia area from the mid-19th century to the present.
The Archives collections are particularly strong in areas involving social service organizations, unions, housing development, community organizations, and contain many records from organizations involved with African Americans, education, and crime.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Produced by the Library of Congress, covers 1836 - 1922
Television and Radio Archives
Need to find a historical televsion or radio program? Try searching in these sources.
The University of Maryland's Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
Moving Image Research Collections (MIRC) strives to preserve our global moving image heritage, diversify understandings of moving image culture, and envision a better future by encouraging new interpretations of the recent past.
MIRC began in 1980 with the gift of the Fox Movietone News Collection.
Since then, archival holdings have increased to an estimated 6000 hours of material, including local television news and commercials, home movies, micro-cinematographic nature films, and fiction and documentary films from the People's Republic of China.
Created by the Internet Archive this project brings together over 577,000 news broadcasts of various origins since 2009. Useful to students of communications, media, and related fields. Visitors can search all of the captions from each program on the homepage or look at the Recent Extracted Topics word cloud.