It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A useful tutorial from NCSU gives an explanation of "article databases" and how to use them.
Off Campus Access To Library Resources
Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN.
Databases for Journalism and Communication Research
Contains abstracts to articles and books from leading journals focused on journalism, interpersonal communication, communication and new media, and much more.
Areas covered include mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc. Coverage in some publications may date back to 1915.
Provides analysis of issues in the news media, covering a variety of topics. Also offers an overview, chronology, and bibliography for each issue as well as a pro/con section that represents opposing points of view.
Covers a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Replaced Research Library from ProQuest in 2018. Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
While the Databases listed above provide a good starting point, if your research involves other areas, perhaps Politics, Religion, Education, Environmental Science or any number of related fields, you will find the extensive list of all Lehigh Databases at our Database Finder page. You might also consider taking a look at the other Subject- focused Libguides.
To get you started here are some suggested article databases in select disciplines:
Business Source Premier provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. As an an EBSCOHost database, it can be searched individually or in combination with any other EBSCOHost database.
Political science, public policy, and international relations database that includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) with full text of many documents.
Covers 1985 to present (full text) and 1914 to present (abstracts)
Provides bibliographic coverage of journal articles in life sciences, especially focusing on biomedical areas.
Scholarly, Popular, Trade? Whats the difference?
Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.
Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.
Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.
Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.
Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.
Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.
Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.
Intended for practititioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.
a national magazine that covers all aspects of print, television, radio and online media. The magazine, which is published six times a year, examines how the media cover specific stories and broader coverage trends.