Library Guides: CHE 376 / ME 376: Energy: Issues & Technology: Articles

Searching Tips

Basic Search Techniques
Defining your topic, organizing your search, and tips on working with document databases

Search For A Specific Article

Use the Citation Linker to see if Lehigh has access to a specific article.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

Off Campus Access To Library Resources

Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN .

(updated 4/11/2024)

Core Article Databases

The following is a list of databases with content applicable to the field of chemical engineering. Some have the full text of articles and some link to full text using SFX.

Google Patents
Simpler version of USPTO search system. PDFs of all US patents. Also covers European, Japanese, and World Patents.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, go to Settings, then Library links, then type in Lehigh University. If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.)
Links to PDFs when available; excellent for finding specific articles or books.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Major resource for chemistry research. Many capabilities it provides includes searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here.
USPTO Patent Public Search This link opens in a new window
Links and helpful information for both the basic and advanced searching capabilities from the USPTO.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.

Magazines

Below is a list of magazines which feature articles aimed toward practitioners in the engineering field.

Chemical & Engineering News (CEN)
Often covers environmental concerns. Includes pharmaceuticals.
Environmental Science & Technology
one of the earliest and best journals devoted to the environment, but can be highly technical; a mix of research and general articles
Energy & Fuels
IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy
International journal of energy research
Renewable Energy
Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells

Set Up Google Scholar

Set up Lehigh University as your default library for Google Scholar in order to:

Quickly access an electronic copy of the article, if available.
Request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Add items to your RefWorks account.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

CHE 376 / ME 376: Energy: Issues & Technology: Articles