It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, go to Settings, then Library links, then type in Lehigh University. If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.)
Links to PDFs when available; excellent for finding specific articles or books.
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed also includes links to resources and tools from The National Center for Biotechnology Information, which gives access to biomedical and genomic information.
The original citation index of predominantly STEM fields; used to find current articles that cite earlier work. Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
Major resource for chemistry research. Many capabilities it provides includes searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here.
How to Find CIting/Cited Articles
Many library databases let you start with a known document (for example, a journal paper) and generate references it cites and/or documents published later in time that cite it.
great way to develop a bibliography
identify articles that have been heavily cited, that is, that have strongly influenced a field of research
track the impact of your writing (if you are an author)
if you are a faculty member up for tenure or promotion, present cited/citing data in your dossier (check with your department or college for details).
Contact a librarian to identify relevant databases and setting up email alerts for citing literature. Some starting points: