Library Guides: ANTH 011: Cultural Diversity and Human Nature: Finding Articles (Secondary Sources)

What is a secondary source?

Secondary sources analyze, describe, discuss, or summarize primary sources. In general, a secondary source is one or more steps removed from the event, time period, or person being discussed, and are written after the fact with the benefit of hindsight. Secondary sources can include:

Biographies
Reference sources like dictionaries or encyclopedias
Literature reviews
Works of criticism or interpretation as in many scholarly articles

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Index and full text access to the publications of the American Anthropological Association. Covers 1888 - present.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Unique database which facilitates research and study of human culture, society and behavior. It enables cross-cultural comparative research on a growing number of cultures.
Also known as eHRAF: World Cultures.

Human Relations Area Files Tutorials
Brief training videos are available for Browse, Searching and Collecting Data in eHRAF.

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Sociology and social services database with access to Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index Abstracts, and the Sociology Database with full-text coverage.
Coverage from 1952 - present.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database that covers aspects of social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. A broad range of disciplines are represented.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social sciences database that offers international coverage of subject areas including Political Science, Public Policy, Sociology, Education, Psychology, Economics, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

ANTH 011: Cultural Diversity and Human Nature

Google Scholar

Interlibrary Loan

What is a secondary source?

Recommended Databases