Library Guides: IR 210: Theories of Foreign Policy: Getting Started

Reference Materials

Dictionary of Terrorism by John Richard Thackrah Terrorism is one of the primary concerns of the modern world and is increasingly becoming a major factor in all international relations in the 21st century. This revised and updated second edition of a major reference work in the area contains definitions and descriptions of all aspects of terrorism and political violence, including: * individual terrorists * terrorist organisations * terrorist incidents * countries affected by terrorism * types of terrorism * measures against terrorism * forms of political violence * history of terrorism * psychology of terrorism
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Routledge Handbook of International Relations in the Middle East by Shahram Akbarzadeh (Editor) This handbook examines the regional and international dynamics of the Middle East. It challenges the state society dichotomy to make sense of decision-making and behavior by ruling regimes. The 33 chapter authors include the world's leading scholars of the Middle East and International Relations (IR) in order to make sense of the region. This synthesis of area studies expertise and IR theory provides a unique and rigorous account of the region's current dynamics, which have reached a crisis point since the beginning of the Arab Spring. The Middle East has been characterized by volatility for more than a century. Although the region attracts significant scholarly interest, IR theory has rarely been used as a tool to understand events. The constructivist approach in IR highlights the significance of state identity, shaped by history and culture, in making sense of international relations. The authors of this volume consider how IR theory can elucidate the patterns and principles that shape the region, in order to provide a rigorous account of the contemporary challenges of the Middle East. The Routledge Handbook of International Relations in the Middle East provides comprehensive coverage of International Relations issues in the region. Thus, it offers key resources for researchers and students interested in International Relations and the Middle East.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019
Routledge Handbook of Politics in Asia by Shiping Hua (Editor) The Routledge Handbook of Politics in Asia is designed to serve as a comprehensive reference guide to politics in Asia. Covering East, South, Southeast, and Central Asia, this handbook brings together the work of leading international academics to cover the political histories, institutions, economies, and cultures of the region. Taking a comparative approach, it is divided into four parts, including: A thorough introduction to the politics of the four regions of Asia from the perspectives of democratization, foreign policy, political economy, and political culture. An examination of the "Big Three" of Asia - China, India, and Japan - focusing on issues including post-Mao reform, China's new world outlook, Indian democracy, and Japanese foreign policy. A discussion of important contemporary issues, such as human rights, the politics of the internet, security, nationalism, and geopolitics. An analysis of the relationship between politics and certain theoretical ideas, such as Confucianism, Hinduism, socialist constitutionalism, and gender norms. As an invaluable and all-inclusive resource, this handbook will be useful for students, scholars, researchers, and practitioners of Asian politics and comparative politics.
Call Number: 320.95 R869
Publication Date: 2018
The SAGE handbook of European foreign policy
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
SAGE Knowledge Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
Online books, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles across the social and hard sciences.

Finding Background Information

BBC News Country Profiles
Guide to the history, politics and economics of countries and territories.
CIA World Factbook
Updated on a bi-weekly basis, the CIA Factbook, give a quick snapshot of each nation's demography, economy, government, geography, and other sectors such as transportation, communication, transportation and military.
U.S. Department of State Background Notes
Find facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
A gateway to resources in international affairs. Provides annotations and links.

Keep a Research Log

Before embarking on an extensive research project, you may want to create an Excel (Google) spreadsheet or Word (Google) document to record your research process and reflect on next steps.

Consider creating a spreadsheet to keep a record of the search statements you used when searching in various places (e.g. databases). This way you will avoid redoing the same searches. You can also create worksheets to record: tasks; background information sources; reading completed and to be done; items to obtain in full-text; email alerts for new literature that you set up. etc. Please feel free to customize the Excel sheet below to meet your needs.

Sample of spreadsheet structure

Literature Review Spreadsheet

IR 210: Theories of Foreign Policy

Research Assistance

Jamboard Activity

Reference Materials

Finding Background Information

Keep a Research Log

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift