Library Guides: IR 210: Theories of Foreign Policy: Finding Primary Sources

What is a primary source?

Primary sources are sources that were created during the time period a researcher is studying, and provide firsthand evidence about a person, event, work of art, or object. This can include:

letters or other forms of direct communication
creative writing such as novels, poems, or plays
speeches
newspapers
works of art, photographs, and music recordings
eyewitness accounts
interviews
maps

A.M. Explorer

Primary Source Collections provided by A.M. Explorer This link opens in a new window
Enables cross searching of 88 primary source collections covering a wide range of humanities and social science subjects.
Major themes include Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict

Tips:

Search a specific collection, for example, The Nixon Years, 1969-1974.
After doing a broad search (e.g. "Vietnam War"), filter by collection.

International Primary Sources

The National Archives of the United Kingdom

U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
British government working documents for the following subject areas: social, political, economic, and foreign policy from 1901-2004.
United Nations Official Document System This link opens in a new window
A full-text web resource for official United Nations documentation. Covers all types of documents originating from duty stations worldwide, including selective documents of the regional commissions.
Comprehensive coverage starts in 1993. Older United Nations documents are added to the system on a daily basis. Selective coverage of General Assembly and Security Council documentation currently reaches back to 1985. The ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

Wilson Center Digital Archive
The Wilson Center Digital Archive provides access to declassified documents from governments and organizations all over the world, much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. Collections include The Cold War International History Project, The North Korea International Documentation Project, The Nuclear Proliferation International History Project, and more.

United States Primary Sources

Directory of U.S. Presidential Libraries
Foreign Relations of the United States
Foreign Relations of the United States is the official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy, covering 1861-1988 (through the Reagan presidency).
more...less...
FRUS is also available from HeinOnline.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal history and documents in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Find law journals, the Congressional Record in entirety, coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials back to the early 1700's, legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from 1936, the CFR from 1938, and much more.

The National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is a combined investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, and library and archive of declassified U.S. documents

U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Complete access U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
Full text access and indexing for research in U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations.

IR 210: Theories of Foreign Policy

What is a primary source?

A.M. Explorer

International Primary Sources

United States Primary Sources

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift