Search Techniques
Here are standard search tools. You may find variations between databases in terms of the symbols to use and how they behave when executing a search. Check a database's documentation for details about searching and search examples.
TIP: look for items that cite the item you find interesting. Those citing items can be very relevant to your research as well!
Background Information
Background information helps you understand the main concepts or jargon you encounter in your research.
There are many resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, Wikipedia used judiciously, etc.) to identify background information sources that help you with this. Some the library pays for, others you can find on the open web.
Scroll through the tabs in this box to see various resources related to finding background information.
Books and Ebooks can be a great source of background information.
TIPS:
- When searching, sort the results by "Date Descending". That way the most recent items will come to the top.
- Handbooks can be useful. They may contain good articles that provide an overview of your topic.
- You can find books that Lehigh does not own by going to WorldCat, which comes in two flavors. You can order them from other librariies using PALCI or ILLiad, available here.
Watch the video below to learn more about searching in ASA: the online library catalog.
- Elsevier encyclopediasClick on the URL then click on the magnifying glass at the top (to the right of the text "journals and books". A box will open where you can search by your topic. Then, on the left, you can restrict by "Article type". There, select Encyclopedia.
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowOnline encyclopedia and dictionary for the sciences. Includes biographies, images and animations, and videos.
- Google Advanced SearchUse the Google Advanced Search to do a precise search. Make sure to evaluate critically the webpages that come up for reliability. Likely you will of course come across Wikipedia articles, which can serve as a stepping stone to discovering academic resources. *Often Wikipedia has useful links listed at the bottom of an article.* You will of course have to confirm independently information you find in Wikipedia.
Accessing Full Text
If you are in a database and find an article citation without a link to full text, look for the Lehigh links, as below. Clicking on it brings up a screen (scroll down) from which you can access it or you will be prompted to look it up via ASA to see if it is in print, or you can order it via ILLiad. The information necessary to order it will be appear in the ILLiad screen. You can then order a copy of it. You will receive an email with a link to the article. Lehigh will order a copy of the article from another school, or it will scan a copy of it if Lehigh has a copy. Illiad requires a one time set-up.
If you are reading an article or book and come across a citation for an article and want to find its full text, see this video:
Article Databases
Below are sources of scholarly articles. Some of the databases listed overlap with the ones listed in the other tab, which focuses on popular articles. So some databases are multi-purpose! Figure out how to limit to scholarly journal articles in the items below that also have popular articles.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers publications including periodicals, book reviews, dissertations about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). Some full text available.
- MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIF YOU DO NOT SEE THE MEDLINE DATABASE, CLICK ON THE DRAG DOWN DATABASE MENU AND SELECT MEDLINE. Version of the major medical/biological database MEDLINE, available out of the Web of Science interface. See MEDLINE searching library guide off library homepage.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowHelps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index for education research. Contains scholarly journals, popular materials, reports, and other resources.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle from 1989 to present; access to all content including the Almanac of Higher Education and other statistical data.
ACADEMIC SEARCH ULTIMATE
Put in your search statement (see documentation) and then scroll down and select these options under Publication Type: "Periodical or "Newspaper". (TIP: you might find some scholarly journal articles come up if you use "Periodical". Ignore those; just look for popular magazines and newspapers in the results!) You can bring up journal articles in this database as well but won't need to do so for the exercise.)
Sort results by "Date Newest".
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
RESEARCH LIBRARY
You can search for popular articles, specifically magazines and newspaper articles, in this database by putting in your search terms and then scrolling down to "Source Type" and clicking "Magazines" and "Newspapers". (You can also search for scholarly articles in this database, but for the exercise just use it for popular articles.)
Some search tips here.
After running search, sort by "Most Recent First".
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
NEWSPAPER SOURCES
1. Elsevier: News category
Click here. Click on the magnifying glass at the top to the right of the text "journals and books". A box will open where you can search by your topic. Run your search. On the left, at "Article type", click "show more" and scroll down to select news.
2. Or, browse the list of newspaper databases here to find one's appropriate for your work in the class.
3. Another option is to use the Advanced Google search to find news. When you come up with the search results, look near the top of the page and click on "news".
ARTICLE SEARCH
View the video below for tips on searching for articles.
Review Articles
Some databases that provide review articles are below. For the purpose of this class, you can search in them for topics related to women and science.
Review articles give a bird's eye view of a field or niche within a field. As such, they can help provide "background information" about a field.
They can contain valuable bibliography. The titles of these articles often have a slightly higher level or "generic" quality than the titles of articles reporting very specific research findings.
For the following source, make sure to sort the results by date descending.
- Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new windowSuite of journals in science, engineering, and social sciences publishing only review articles, which provide extensive overviews of current research.
After searching for topics related to women in science, you can limit to "review articles" in below.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowHelps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.