Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN.
(updated 4/11/2024)
You'll be looking for peer reviewed scholarly papers.
1. IMPORTANT: Start off by using Web of Science, since this is the database we covered in class.
All of the journals in the database Web of Science Core Collection should be peer-reviewed. Make sure you have the "Web of Science Core Collection" selected on the homepage of Web of Science.
Do a search on a topic that relates to your topic, then find some relevant articles. Limit to your search to document type article or review to make sure it’s not picking up a something else, such as an editorial. Look for related articles, articles that cite the article, and the article’s own cited references.
2. If you don't find what you need using Web of Science, use other library databases. When you do so, see if there is a peer reviewed selection option. For example, if you use Academic Search Ultimate, check off "Peer Reviewed) Journals" before running your search. In the search results on the left, then select "Academic Journals". Make sure that you are getting academic journal articles.
3. If you cannot find an article that is listed by a database as peer reviewed, then just make sure that it is a scholarly paper and not something else, like an editorial.
4. The library has many subject library guides. For example, there are subject guides for earth sciences, biology, and chemistry. These may give you ideas about further databases to search for articles and information, especially if your topic spans different fields (for example, "geochemistry").
DATABASE LINKS:
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
Covers 1987 - present.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.