Skip to Main Content

Students Faculty Staff Visitors

Anthropology

Online Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
SAGE Knowledge Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
Online books, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles across the social and hard sciences.

Reference Books

A Companion to the Anthropology of Religion
Available electronically.
A dictionary of cultural anthropology by Luis Antonio Vivanco "This new dictionary provides concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts relating to cultural anthropology, as well as important findings and intellectual figures in the field. Entries include adaptation, kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture, providing its readers with a wide-ranging overview of the subject. This accessibly written and engaging text presents anthropology as a dynamic and lively field of enquiry. Complemented by a global list of anthropological organizations, more than 15 figures and tables to illustrate the entries, and weblinks pointing to useful external sources, this is an essential text for undergraduates studying anthropology, and also serves those studying allied subjects such as politics, economics, geography, sociology, and gender studies."
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Archaeological Theories by R. Alexander Bentley (Editor); Herbert D. G. Maschner (Editor); Christopher Chippindale (Editor)
Call Number: Linderman Library 4th Floor 930.101 H236
Publication Date: 2007
Also available as an ebook.
A Handbook of Practicing Anthropology
Available electronically.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by R. Jon McGee (Editor); Richard L. Warms (Editor) Social and cultural anthropology and archaeology are rich subjects with deep connections in the social and physical sciences. Over the past 150 years, the subject matter and different theoretical perspectives have expanded so greatly that no single individual can command all of it. Consequently, both advanced students and professionals may be confronted with theoretical positions and names of theorists with whom they are only partially familiar, if they have heard of them at all. Students, in particular, are likely to turn to the web to find quick background information on theorists and theories. However, most web-based information is inaccurate and/or lacks depth. Students and professionals need a source to provide a quick overview of a particular theory and theorist with just the basics--the "who, what, where, how, and why". In response, SAGE Reference is publishing the two-volume Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia. Features & Benefits: Two volumes containing approximately 335 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader′s Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities. An appendix with a Chronology of Anthropology Theory allows students to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry and a Master Bibliography at the end guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013

Web Resources

Anthropology Resources on the Internet
American Anthropological Association maintains an extensive list of useful anthropology websites and networks of interest.