Skip to main content

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Library Resources for Course Readings

Introduction

This guide will provide an overview of the different collections available, and will include additional information on using digital content such as open resources, articles, or electronic course reserves, in your course.

The library has access to a large and increasing number of ebook collections from scholarly publishers. Since these collections were acquired to align with Lehigh curricula and research, many of these ebooks may have material that can be used as supplementary course readings. It is also possible that your main course texts are available in ebook form through the Libraries. 

Lehigh's Ebook Collections

Below is a list of ebook collections -- use the hyperlinked titles to navigate directly to the collection for browsing, making sure to only search under Lehigh-owned titles. Or: search our library catalog for ebooks by publisher or by keyword (directions here). 

You may have to remove pop-up blockers.

Also: Be sure to use the VPN to connect to library resources from off campus.

Collection Content Areas Content Types
(note: some of these collections include journals)
Functionality
ASTM Compass Civil Engineering Technical manuals and monographs PDF chapter downloads
Cambridge University Press All Full text ebooks

PDF chapter downloads

Chapter downloads to Kindle

Chapter downloads to Dropbox

Cambridge Online Companions Humanities, Social Sciences Scholarly reference companions

PDF chapter downloads

Chapter downloads to Kindle

Chapter downloads to Dropbox

CRC  Sciences, Mathematics, Engineering Full text ebooks PDF chapter downloads

Ebook Central

 

All Full text ebooks

Online reading

Annotations

Limited printing

Limited page downloads

(further information on use)

JSTOR

 

All Full text ebooks

Online reading

PDF chapter downloads

(further information on use)

Oxford Scholarship Online 

(Oxford University Press)

Humanities, Social Sciences Selected full text ebooks

Online reading

PDF chapter downloads

Hyperlinked footnotes

Oxford Very Short Introductions All Full text ebooks

Online reading

PDF chapter downloads

Project Muse All Full text ebooks

Online reading

PDF chapter downloads

Sage Knowledge Base Social Sciences, Psychology, Education Full text ebooks, handbooks, and methodology texts

Online reading

PDF chapter downloads

 

Linking to Ebooks in CourseSite

Permalinks for ebooks can be made available to students on your Course Site.

Ebooks from the collections listed on this page have a durable link for the entire book.  Simply find the record in ASA: 

Follow the ebook link:

Water: a very short introduction permalink

Then copy the link and paste the URL as shown here for a routine reading assignment:

Please read chapters 1-4 in Water: A Very Short Introduction for next week and be prepared to participate in the class discussion.  

http://www.veryshortintroductions.com/view/10.1093/actrade/9780198708728.001.0001/actrade-9780198708728

To request a new ebook for library collections, submit the request here.