Library Guides: Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

Women and Social Movements, International 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Digital primary source archive containing conference proceedings; reports of international women's organizations; publications of women's NGOs; and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-1800s.
Also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through 2005. Includes Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Seventeen, and more.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of all Women Writers Project titles currently available online, covering works written between 1400 to 1850.
The Women Writer's Project aims to reclaim the cultural importance of early women's writing in all subject areas. Its emphasis is on access and long-term preservation of textual data. Coverage from 1400 to 1850.

Primary Sources by Time Period

Women and Social Movements, International 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Digital archive, covers 19th century and later
Also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
British government working documents for the following subject areas: social, political, economic, and foreign policy from 1901-2004.
African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals: 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals I - IV This link opens in a new window
The two collections cover the late 17th to early 20th centuries and consist of the full text of more than 460 early British periodicals and journals.
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences as well as music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Women and Social Movements, International 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Digital archive, starts mid-19th century
Also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1400 to 1850
The Women Writer's Project aims to reclaim the cultural importance of early women's writing in all subject areas. Its emphasis is on access and long-term preservation of textual data. Coverage from 1400 to 1850.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Dates vary for individual newspapers; however, the entire database covers 1800-1899
Dates vary for individual newspapers, however the entire database covers 1800-1899
African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals: 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals I - IV This link opens in a new window
The two collections cover the late 17th to early 20th centuries and consist of the full text of more than 460 early British periodicals and journals.
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences as well as music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Early American Imprints: 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) provides full-text search capabilities and access to an image database of the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Continues Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1659-1800. This primary source database is based on the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items.
Harper's Weekly: The Civil War Era 1857-1865 This link opens in a new window
Provides Harper's Weekly online for the years 1857 to 1865.
All the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857-1865) are viewable as scanned images, together with a series of four indexes: subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising.
Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912
Subjects covered in the collection reach all facets of American life, including science, literature, medicine, women's fashion, agriculture, family life, and religion.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through 2005. Includes Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Seventeen, and more.

Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1400 to 1850
The Women Writer's Project aims to reclaim the cultural importance of early women's writing in all subject areas. Its emphasis is on access and long-term preservation of textual data. Coverage from 1400 to 1850.
Early American Imprints: 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary sources covering nearly every aspect of early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, politics and every day life. Coverage from 1639 to 1800.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is based on Charles Evans American Bibliography and the Supplement to Evans American Bibliography by Roger Bristol. These bibliographies attempted to gather all American imprints (published works) from the 17th and 18th Centuries. These works identify historic publications that are in microfiche collection known as Early American Imprints, 1639-1800. The Early American Imprints: Series I: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1659-1800 is an ongoing project of digitizing and making full text searching available for all of the 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912
Subjects covered in the collection reach all facets of American life, including science, literature, medicine, women's fashion, agriculture, family life, and religion.
The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1815 This link opens in a new window
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800

Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1400 to 1850
The Women Writer's Project aims to reclaim the cultural importance of early women's writing in all subject areas. Its emphasis is on access and long-term preservation of textual data. Coverage from 1400 to 1850.
Early American Imprints: 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1639 to 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is based on Charles Evans American Bibliography and the Supplement to Evans American Bibliography by Roger Bristol. These bibliographies attempted to gather all American imprints (published works) from the 17th and 18th Centuries. These works identify historic publications that are in microfiche collection known as Early American Imprints, 1639-1800. The Early American Imprints: Series I: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1659-1800 is an ongoing project of digitizing and making full text searching available for all of the 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, provided by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
Subjects covered in the collection reach all facets of American life, including science, literature, medicine, women's fashion, agriculture, family life, and religion.

Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

Primary Sources by Time Period

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift