Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Psychology

Off Campus Access To Library Resources

Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN)  to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN.

(updated 7/24/2020)

Core Article Databases

More Article Databases

VIDEO TUTORIAL: 7 SEARCH TOOLS FOR LITERATURE DATABASES

This video tutorial  gives a generic discussion of search tools used in many library databases. Not every database uses all these tools.   

It is important to determine how to apply these search tools in the specific database relevant to your writing and research. Lehigh's library guides help you identify relevant databases for your particular topic. Go to the library homepage and then click on the "How to..." link. 

VIDEO TUTORIAL: WEB OF SCIENCE

Web of Science video tutorial.   Topics covered:  wildcards, Booleans, and phrase searching; using cited/cited searching, finding review articles. NOTE: this tutorial exemplifies points made in the video tutorial "7 Search Tools for Lliterature Databases."

VIDEO TUTORIAL: PSYCINFO

This video  tutorial is about PsycINFO Basic Searching.   

 Watch the 7 Search Tools video before watching this tutorial. It covers Boolean "AND" and "OR", which is not discussed in this tutorial. Note that you can "nest" boolean operators within parentheses, so that the terms in the parentheses are processed together. 

Coming soon: using subject headers

For some other specialized topics, including "formatting a Citation in APA", see these tutorials  For information about PsycINFO, see this guide.

VIDEO TUTORIAL: USING LEHIGH LINKS TO ACCESS FULL TEXT

In library databases, you will see "Lehigh Links", which enable you to get out to the full text,of articles or order an article that is not available electronically. This brief tutorial video explains how to use Lehigh Links. 

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

VIDEO TUTORIAL: HAVE CITATION, GET ARTICLE

This video tutorial shows you how to get to the full text of an article if you have a citation.  

It relies on using Google Scholar for this purpose, in conjunction with Lehigh Links, from which you can get to the full text or order the article via "ILLiad".

Other ways to find the full text of an article:

  • If your citation has a "DOI", put it into a google search. Make sure VPN is on.
  • Use ASA,, which you can search from the library homepage.. Select journal title from the drag down, put in the journal title, and then search for the journal record. In it you can see the electronic and print holdings.
  • From the library homepage, search on the journal using the E-journals link. 
  • Use the citation linker. Put in the citation details. This will get you out to the Lehigh Links menu. 

PUBMED

Here is a National Library of Medicine's (NLM) tutorial about searching the PubMed interface. PubMed is a freely accessible search database for medically related literature. Although PubMed is free on the web, make sure you access it off Lehigh's library homepage, since you will then see Lehigh Links (mentioned in the Web of Science tutorial).

In the NLM tutorial, the presenter shows you how a PubMed search is mapped into a controlled search vocabulary (thesaurus). The terms in this vocabulary are used in PubMed to index articles, therefore providing a very focused way of searching. You can search in PubMed itself or go directly to the MeSH database

Some other tutorials are these:

Some comments::

--When you search PubMed, look at the documentation about it. For example, look at these sections in the table of contents.

--When you search a topic in the MeSH database (MeSH=Medical Subject Headings), you can limit the search to aspects of the topic Say you want to find literature diagnostic imagining of the brain. You can search on "Brain" in the MeSH, then check off "diagnostic imaging" in the list of subtopics.  

--If you notice that MeSH is not picking up the most recent results, if there is a delay in assigning MeSH headers, try other search approaches.