Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News Archives, Indexes and Morgues
News Archives (19th, 20th, 21st Century)
Google News Archive
Free access to newspapers digitized by Google, including many historical papers. May not be full runs.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Historical Newspapers)
A full-image archive that covers the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Philadelphia Inquirer (Historical Newspapers)
A full-image archive that covers the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Urban Archives @ Temple University
The Urban Archives documents the social, economic, and physical development of the Philadelphia area from the mid-19th century to the present.
The Archives collections are particularly strong in areas involving social service organizations, unions, housing development, community organizations, and contain many records from organizations involved with African Americans, education, and crime.
Television and Radio Archives
British Pathe Archives
Contains audio clips of news, sports, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970s. Still frames or "storyboards of clips" are free, but registration is required for the free previews.
CBC Digital Archives
Contains a selection of radio and television clips from the Archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).
Internet Archive: TV News
Created by the Internet Archive this project brings together over 577,000 news broadcasts of various origins since 2009. Useful to students of communications, media, and related fields. Visitors can search all of the captions from each program on the homepage or look at the Recent Extracted Topics word cloud.
National Public Broadcasting and Library of American Broadcasting
The University of Maryland's Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
Moving Image Research Collection
Moving Image Research Collections (MIRC) strives to preserve our global moving image heritage, diversify understandings of moving image culture, and envision a better future by encouraging new interpretations of the recent past.
MIRC began in 1980 with the gift of the Fox Movietone News Collection.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Contains individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, including ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN.