Library Guides: HIST/LAS149 Narcos: The Global Drug Wars: Drug Trafficking Resources

Background information

BBC News Country Profiles
This site will provide a guide to the history, politics and economics of countries and territories. Use it to locate background information on important international institutions and NGO's. You can also find audio and video from the BBC archives.
Congressional Research Services Reports from UNT
The Congressional Research service issues reports to Congress on important topics. The Univ. of North Texas makes reports available.
Council on Foreign Relations Backgrounders
The CFR provides succinct explanations of current political and economic issues. Can be browsed by issue, region and year. The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.
more...less...
You can also find many more useful resources on the CFR website. Explore!
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." While some of these books are dated ( check the title page for the date of publication) they are a good source for information on geograpy, culture, history. The library also has many of these titles in print in our collection.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for background information and getting started on a topic, CQ Researcher encompasses original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
Covers a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.

U.S. Bilateral Relations Factsheets
Up to date information on U.S. foreign relations with specific nations. Released by the Department of State.

Blog Diego Valle for data visualization, Mexican Drug War
Council on Hemispheric Affairs
Cross-Border Initiatives from the Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice, University of San Diego
Human Rights Watch
In SightCrime Organized Crime in the Americas
Internal Displacement Monitoring Center
Latin American Network Information Center, LANIC
Mexico Institute at the Wilson Center
NACLA, Report on the Americas
The Narco News Bulletin
The National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is a combined investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, and library and archive of declassified U.S. documents
Stratfor Global Intelligence
Transnational Institute
The Transnational Institute (TNI) is an international research and advocacy institute committed to building a just, democratic and sustainable planet.
U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
UNODC
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime website containing reports and data on drug abuse, drug production, trafficking and drug-related crime.
WOLA
WOLA is a research and advocacy organization advancing human rights in the Americas.