Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jazz and Popular Music
19th Century American Sheet Music
This collection, at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library, includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century.
African American Sheet Music: 1850-1920
This collection consists of 1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1850 through 1920.
Historic American Sheet Music
The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3,042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Hoagy Carmichael Collection, Indiana University
This digital collection comprises the largest holding in the world of materials pertaining to Hoagy Carmichael.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
Contains over 29,000 pieces of American popular music from 1780 to 1980, especially music related to military conflicts from the War of 1812 through World War I. Minstrel music is also well represented.
Library of Congress Music for the Nation
This archive contains 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885, including popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
Popular American Music, Digital Archive
An extensive collection available from UCLA.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music.