Home
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.
Citing Primary Sources
Q: How do I cite primary sources using the Chicago Manual of Style?
A: For newspapers and magazines, cite as you would any other periodical. Check the Purdue OWL site below for information on how to cite other types of primary sources, like interviews, letters, and film.
- Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)Information on how to format citations and footnotes in Chicago style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.
Primary Sources from Online Archives
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new windowAggregates collections from a vast span of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available on the web, with contents ranging from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project: ImperialismThe Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for educational use, housed at Fordham University.
ASA - The Library Catalog
Primary Sources from Lehigh Databases
- African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAccess to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1900.
- British Periodicals I - IV This link opens in a new windowThe two collections cover the late 17th to early 20th centuries and consist of the full text of more than 460 early British periodicals and journals.
- Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, provided by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
- New York Times (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowBritish government working documents for the following subject areas: social, political, economic, and foreign policy from 1901-2004.
Secondary Sources from Lehigh Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowHistorical research about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers publications including periodicals, book reviews, dissertations about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). Some full text available.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
Social Sciences Librarian
Elizabeth Young-Miller
she/her/hers