It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.
Citing Primary Sources
Q: How do I cite primary sources using the Chicago Manual of Style?
A: For newspapers and magazines, cite as you would any other periodical. Check the Purdue OWL site below for information on how to cite other types of primary sources, like interviews, letters, and film.
The Digital Public Library of America aggregates collections from a vast span of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available on the web, with contents ranging from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
A full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Covers Sept. 18, 1851 to 3 years before the current year
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers publications from 1910-present.
Covers all key English-language historical journals, also includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes thousands of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals. Also includes abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Social Sciences/Scholarly Communications Librarian