English Language & Literature: Primary resources & other websites

A full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.

Cover-to-cover full-text contents for hundreds of 19th century U.S. papers, 1800-1899.

Access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

Newspaper coverage of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.

Digitized versions (usually from microfilm copies) of newspapers from most American states, some with many issues and some with only a few.

Offers more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers, focusing on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically.

"Historical Newspapers contains four major historical resources:
Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times; The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980; The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922; Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times"

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1815, the Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century.

Comprises content related to: “Benjamin Franklin’s Newspaper” (1728–1750), “The French & Indian War” (1751–1765), “The American Revolution” (1766–1783), and “The New Republic and Jeffersonian Democracy” (1784–1815).
Includes articles, editorials, letters, news items, travel stories, classified ads, employment notices, lost and found goods and advertisements, covering the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces through the West Indies and North and South America.