It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.
Off Campus Access To Library Resources
Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN.
Series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts in the field and used by students, scholars and non-specialists. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music.
A fully searchable library of over 260,000 full text works of English and American literature, Literature Online contains full text of plays, poems and fiction from the year 600 to the present in English including Shakespeare and the Bible. Newest offerings include African-American poetry to 1900 with more works forthcoming.
Access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
The MLA International Bibliography, described below, plus full text from more than 1000 journals. Covers topics in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
It includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides full information on more than 4,000 journals and series from 1926 to the present.
The Oxford DNB defines "national" as British, broadly construed to encompass large portions of the former British empire. It was first published between 1885 and 1900, and updated frequently. New biographies are added several years after the death of the subject.