Library Guides: Digital Humanities: DH @ Lehigh

Projects

The Library has a long tradition of creating DH projects. Most of the content for these projects has come from Lehigh's Special Collections.

Beyond Steel: An Archive of Lehigh Valley Industry and Culture
With an emphasis on industry and society, Beyond Steel highlights the Lehigh Valley's mid nineteenth-century boom through late twentieth-century decline and the continuing community readjustment.
The Vault at Pfaff's
Created by Professor of English Edward Whitley, The Vault at Pfaff's is a digital archive of art and literature by New York City's nineteenth-century Bohemians.
History on Trial
Created by Professor of English Edward Gallagher, History on Trial looks at six different historical controversies including the Enola Gay controversy, the Vietnam Wall controversy, and the Jefferson-Hemings controversy.
Still Looking for You: A Bethlehem Place + Memory Project
One of Lehigh's newest digital projects, Still Looking for You is a living archive of Bethlehem history.
I Remain: A Digital Archive
I Remain consists of letters, manuscripts and ephemera from the Lehigh University Libraries' Special Collections.
The Brown and White Archive
A digital archive of Lehigh's student newspaper from 1894-2012.
Digital Bridges
Originally launched in 2002, the Digital Bridges site consists of a collection of over thirty representative historical bridge engineering monographs, manuals, and artifacts from the Lehigh University Libraries' Special Collections.
LU Press: Digital Scholarly Editions
The two current Digital Scholarly Editions from Lehigh University Press look at The Ameri[c]an Atlas by William Faden and A Blake Primer by Elizabeth Sewell and Ann Dickinson Beal.
"Villainy Detected!"
A digital archive of crime and consequences in Britain and America in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Illuminated Manuscripts
This collaborative digital project features illuminated manuscripts from Lehigh, Franklin and Marshall, Penn State, and Villanova.
Lehigh Valley Geology
Lehigh Valley Geology provides scanned images and searchable text of two volumes produced by the Pennsylvania Geological Survey in the early twentieth century.
The Problem of the Planets
The Problem of the Planets was originally designed for a 2004 class on Copernicus.

Mellon Digital Humanities Initiative

The Mellon Digital Humanities Initiative for Engaging Undergraduates with the Local Community, also referred to as the Mellon Digital Humanities Initiative or MDHI, promotes the incorporation of digital technologies to foster meaningful interactions between Lehigh undergraduates and the surrounding community. MDHI sponsors workshops, lectures, and films on digital topics. For more information, visit the MDHI website.

CITL Events

The Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning (CITL) fosters excellence and innovation in teaching, learning, and research by providing faculty and students with development opportunities, teaching tools, course development opportunities, classroom and instructional support, and consultation services. Each semester, CITL holds a variety of workshops related to digitial humanities. Check the calendar for exact dates and times.

THATCamp Lehigh Valley

Lehigh organized THATCamp Lehigh Valley unconferences in 2013 and 2014. Check out the old THATCamp websites to see the range of topics discussed.

Need Help?

For help with your digital humanities project, contact:

Julia Maserjian, Digital Scholarship Project Manager (jcm5@lehigh.edu)

Rob Weidman, Digital Library Technical Coordinator (row3@lehigh.edu)

Heather Simoneau, Humanities Librarian (hms2017@lehigh.edu)

Lois Black, Curator, Special Collections (lob206@lehigh.edu)

Ilhan Citak, Archives and Special Collections Librarian (ilc4@lehigh.edu)

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Digital Humanities: DH @ Lehigh

Projects

Mellon Digital Humanities Initiative

CITL Events

THATCamp Lehigh Valley

Need Help?

DH Centers and Initiatives in Pennsylvania