Library Guides: CHM/ENGL 090-016: How do explosives catalyze change?: Finding Sources

Library Single Search

Library Single Search Tutorial

Books and encyclopedias

Books
Encyclopedias

Explosives by Rudolf Meyer; Josef Köhler; Axel Homburg; Josef Köhler
ISBN: 9783527689583
Publication Date: 2016-08-17
The unrivaled, definitive reference for almost 40 years, this classic work on explosives is now in its seventh, completely revised and updated edition. Some 500 monographic entries, arranged alphabetically, consider the physicochemical properties, production methods, and safe applications of over 120 explosive chemicals. In addition, 70 fuels, additives, and oxidizing agents are discussed as well as the corresponding test methods. Trade, company, and military short names are provided for many of the materials listed, while further key features include a combined index and glossary with terms and abbreviations in English, French, and German, as well as conversion tables and many literature references. Finally, this indispensable source also contains safety data and transport regulations.
Boom!: The chemistry and history of explosives by Field, Simon
ISBN: 9781613738061
Publication Date: 2017
Field takes readers on a decades-long journey through the history of things that go boom. From the early days of black powder to today's modern plastic explosives, he details now just the who, when, and why, but also the how. He explains how explosives work on a molecular scale, and gives readers a basic understanding of the chemistry that makes them possible.
Chemistry of Explosives by Jacqueline Akhavan
ISBN: 9781839164460
Publication Date: 2022-03-07
This concise, easy-to-read book outlines the basic principles needed to understand the chemical mechanisms of explosion. Written for students with no previous knowledge of explosives but some understanding of chemical reactions in mind, it takes the reader through the history of explosives and introduces the concepts of high explosives, propellants and pyrotechnics. Covering combustion, deflagration, and detonation; ignition, initiation, and thermal decomposition; thermochemistry, thermodynamics and kinetics, the text includes detailed formulations and reactions presented with thermochemical calculations to aid understanding. This edition includes environmental legislation and its impact on explosives, together with a section on safety hazard tests. It also contains the latest developments in synthesis and manufacturing of explosives. Covering all aspects of the properties of explosives, The Chemistry of Explosives is a unique text which introduces difficult subjects in a readable manner. Ideal for A-level students and new graduates with no previous knowledge of explosive materials, it will also be useful to anyone needing succinct information on the subject, such as the more experienced chemist in the explosives sector.
From the Earth to the Moon and Round the Moon by Jules Verne
ISBN: 9781504034555
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
A team of nineteenth-century American engineers builds a rocket to the moon in this visionary novel from the author of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and Around the World in Eighty Days During the Civil War, the members of the Baltimore Gun Club delighted themselves by designing artillery the likes of which the world had never seen. But when the South eventually surrenders, the gun club languishes, until its president, Impey Barbicane, conceives of a project so preposterous it must be attempted: to build a gun large enough to fire a rocket to the moon. From raising the money to casting the cannon to readying it to fire, the gun club overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after another. But when a rival engineer and an intrepid French adventurer join Barbicane on the spaceship's inaugural voyage, the three men soon discover that getting to the moon is only half the battle: Making it home will be their toughest challenge yet. From the Earth to the Moon and its sequel, Round the Moon, were published nearly a century before the Apollo missions. Suspenseful, humorous, and prophetic, these captivating adventure stories sparked mankind's enduring fascination with space travel. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Contains the 4th ed. of the Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology. Includes risk management, enterprise resource planning, outsourcing, combinatorial synthesis and technology, functional foods, process automation, electronic chemicals, specialty silicones, mergers and acquisitions, nanoparticles, bioinformatics, ISO 14000, micron-scale chemical analysis, medical applications of biodegradable materials, product development, strategies, drug discovery strategies, chemistry of aging, single-site catalysis, custom manufacturing, and global chemical market analysis. strategies, drug discovery strategies, chemistry of aging, single-site catalysis, custom manufacturing, and global chemical market analy.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by Wiley-VCH (Editor)
ISBN: 9783527306732
Publication Date: 2003-03-11
89 years of expertise in applied and industrial chemistry - Ullmann's is back in print! Generations of chemists and engineers have relied on the well structured and trusted information from Ullmann's Encyclopedia - and you still can count on Ullmann's with the current 6th edition in print. Ullmann's is a synonym for the world's most current and trustworthy knowledge in everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology..........you name it, Ullmann's has it - well over 800 articles on over 30 000 printed pages in 40 volumes. Organized in alphabetical order, the chapters are easy to read and excellent starting points to introduce you to any topic. Over 15 000 tables and 25 000 figures (some of them in color) make it easy for you to quickly find what you are looking for. Countless literature and patent references guide you to the relevant and accessible primary literature. Numerous cross-references point you to relevant chapters in the same context and a well organized index volume enables searching for keywords. Finding what you need is very simple indeed and you won't have to ask for a user's manual for this massive work! Supervised by an internationally acclaimed advisory board, the articles are written by over 3000 international experts from industry and universities, thoroughly edited to uniform style and layout in an in-house office. All figures are re-drawn to give a maximum of clarity and uniformity in style. Compared to the prior edition, almost 60% of the material has either been newly written or thoroughly updated. The rest has been checked for validity and newer references have been added throughout.

Databases

Characteristics:

Cover numerous topics
May contain multiple types of sources (e.g. popular, trade, scholarly)
Audience = educated readership

Examples:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. A broad range of disciplines are represented.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available. Includes newspapers, journals, popular magazines, trade publications and more.

Characteristics:

Pertain to a particular discipline
Often contain scholarly sources, known as peer-reviewed articles
Articles are written and reviewed by experts in the field
Academic audience
Showcase original research

Examples:

Lehigh History Databases

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Major resource for chemistry research. Many capabilities it provides includes searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here.
Proquest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable library of over 260,000 full text works of English and American literature. Contains full text of plays, poems and fiction from the year 600 to the present in English including Shakespeare and the Bible. Newest offerings include African-American poetry to 1900 with more works forthcoming.

Wiley Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Includes The Archives of The New York Academy of Sciences, The Archives of the Royal Anthropological Institute, The Archives of the Royal Geographic Society, The Archives of the Royal College of Physicians, and The History or British Science Archives by the British Association for the Advancement of Sciences
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1900.
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Search Techniques

Accessing Resources Off-Campus

Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network) to access Lehigh's electronic resources from off-campus. View the video to learn how.

CHM/ENGL 090-016: How do explosives catalyze change?

Interlibrary Loan

Share a Source

Library Single Search

Library Single Search Tutorial

Books and encyclopedias

Databases

Search Techniques

Accessing Resources Off-Campus

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift