Library Guides: AS/ES/POLS 305/405: Residential Segregation: Finding Information

Finding Articles

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Political science, public policy, and international relations database of scholarly articles with full text of many documents.
Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA). Covers 1985 to present (full text) and 1914 to present (abstracts)
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database that covers aspects of social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.

Jet Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from 1951-2014 for a key source of news, information and entertainment for American Black Life and culture.
New York Times (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Covers Sept. 18, 1851 to 3 years before the current year
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that covers the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that covers the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.

Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more from communities across the US
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create custom maps and reports. Covers 1790 to present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Note: American FactFinder decommissioned in 2020.

Video from Grant's Crime Lab.

Social Explorer Research Guide
Make the most of Social Explorer using the links and tips provided in this guide from the vendor. Information is organized by subject area.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create custom maps and reports. Covers 1790 to present.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal history and documents in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Find law journals, the Congressional Record in entirety, coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials back to the early 1700's, legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from 1936, the CFR from 1938, and much more.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.

Regulations.Gov
Find proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government, including: Final Regulations, Notices, Scientific and Technical Findings, Guidance, Adjudications, Comments Submitted by Others, and the Unified Agenda and Regulatory Plan