Adding additional styles to Zotero
Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.
To install a style:
- Go to the Zotero Style Repository page.
- Search for the name of the style you need.
- Download the style (right-click the Install link and choose Save As).
- Open Zotero preferences. Click Cite, then Styles, then the "+" button, and select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file).
The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.
Creating Quick Bibliographies
It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.
Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.
Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.
This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).
Zotero can also be used to create an annotated bibliography but only with the APA and Chicago citation styles. For instructions on how to use Zotero to create an annotated bibliography, please see this library guide from Illinois Tech:
Creating Your Bibliography While You Write
Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.
To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.
At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.
The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and versions of Word. Mousing over the toolbar will pop up each button's function if they're not clearly labeled.
Don't see the Word toolbar?
If you don't see the Zotero toolbar in Microsoft Word, do the following:
- Close Word, open Zotero.
- in Zotero, click Edit menu / Preferences / Cite button / Word Processors tab.
- Click "(Re)Install MS Word Add-in" button.
- Reopen Word.
Zotero with Google Docs
Zotero works with Google Docs! You must have the Zotero Connector installed in Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Instead of a toolbar with buttons, as in the Word screenshot above, look for the Zotero menu in your Google Docs editor.
