Library Guides: ANTH 320: Global Capitalism: Cite Sources

Anthropology and Sociology Citation Styles

American Anthropological Association Style Guide
This is the style guide required by the Department of Anthropology.

American Sociological Association Style Guide
Call Number: Linderman 2nd Floor Rotunda 808.027 A512a 2010
This is the style guide required by the Department of Sociology.

Quick Tips for ASA Style
Tip sheet written by the American Sociological Association.

Chicago

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: 808.027 C532c 2017 (Linderman Reading Room)
Publication Date: 2017

Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition)
Full text of the manual available via the Internet Archive.
Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)
Information on how to format citations and footnotes in Chicago style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Samples of common types of citations in Chicago style.
Chicago Style (Excelsior OWL)
Examples of citations using notes (e.g. footnotes) and bibliographies.

ANTH 320: Global Capitalism

Writing Guides

Anthropology and Sociology Citation Styles

Chicago

When to Cite

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift