Skip to main content

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Finding Theses and Dissertations: Finding Lehigh Theses and Dissertations


Finding dissertations on a subject can be a somewhat confusing process because of how they are indexed. Some major abstract services include dissertations but others do not; most do not index masters theses. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the index to those filmed/scanned by ProQuest (previously known as UMI), which includes most US schools and some of the major international universities. Some universities have begun mounting their own disseratons and theses on the Web. Lehigh dissertations are listed in ASA, the online catalog; recent ones are linked to the PDF versions. Dissertations from other schools may be obtained either by purchase or through ILLiad. Many organizations and universities also maintain lists of dissertations in progress.

Dissertations and Theses at Lehigh: Quick Facts

Dissertations and Theses are available in three formats: Paper, microfilm or PDF.
Dissertations are available in paper and/or PDF
Master’s and Theses available in paper, microfilm and/or PDF

Paper copies:
1. From 1896 to 1996 paper only -- except: Titles digitized by ProQuest on demand. Access through ProQuest.
2. PDF (black and white, scanned by ProQuest:
1997 to the present through ProQuest subscription database. Free full-text access with active Lehigh username: 

The records of these titles in ASA library catalog have links to the PDF files:

3. PDF (color PDF, electronically submitted by the authors):
ETD (electronic theses and dissertation) submission process at Lehigh started in 2009. These titles from 2009 to the present are available through Lehigh Preserve:


Master’s Theses:
Up to 1970s: Paper only (Not Complete) Access through ASA Library Catalog
1970s to 2009: All the titles are available in microfilm

1991-2009: Microfilm copies digitized as a special project LIMITED ACCESS: Available in PDF "if" the authors granted open access permission - Otherwise on microfilm or paper only

2009: PDF only (ETDs through Lehigh Preserve)

Coming soon: 1970s to 1991 full text PDF access through Lehigh Preserve

Need Assistance?

Ilhan Citak <p>Archives & Special Collections Librarian</p>'s picture
Ilhan Citak

Archives & Special Collections Librarian

Special Collections
Lehigh University
Linderman Library
30 library Drive
Bethlehem, PA 18015