Using the Lehigh University Libraries
- Using the Lehigh University LibrariesOverview of the library resources. Talk to the science librarian for assistance. See contact information on this page.
Newspapers
- America's Newspapers This link opens in a new windowContains the full text content of over 650 U.S. newspapers.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowDatabase from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.
- New York Times (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
- When using historical full-text databases it is important to conduct searches using the language and words that were in common use at the time the articles were written, for instance:
-
- use "extinction or extinct" as opposed to "endangered species"
- "conservationist" rather than "ecologist or environmentalist"
Background Information Resources
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for background information and getting started on a topic, CQ Researcher encompasses original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowOnline encyclopedia and dictionary for the sciences. Includes biographies, images and animations, and videos.
- National Academies Press"The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy." These institutions attract leading experts in their fields.
Databases for Articles
The following are just a small sampling of the many library databases that the library makes available. Talk to a librarian to identify other possibly relevant databases.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness and Management article source, featuring peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, and trade publications.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, use the Menu icon in the top left, go to Settings, then Library links. Type in Lehigh University and select the check box next to “Lehigh University - Lehigh Links.” If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via other access or interlibrary loan.) - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
- MEDLINE (via PubMed) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic coverage of medical and life sciences areas.
Other useful guides
The following are only two of the many research guides that the library makes available. To see other subject approaches, go to the library homepage, upper right, and scroll through them.
Research Assistance
Lehigh's online catalog, and WorldCat
- ASASearch engine near top of page enables look-up of items in Lehigh's library catalog, including books and ebooks, as well as journal holdings.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is a comprehensive library catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is a comprehensive library catalog of books and other material worldwide.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary loanOrder books via Palci; Articles not available at Lehigh or only available in print (and books not in Palci) via ILLiad. Talk to the librarian for assistance with these.