Library Guides: English Language & Literature: Romantic era through the Victorian era

American Literature

British Periodicals I - IV This link opens in a new window
The two collections cover the late 17th to early 20th centuries and consist of the full text of more than 460 early British periodicals and journals.
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences as well as music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of all Women Writers Project titles currently available online, covering works written between 1400 to 1850.
The Women Writer's Project aims to reclaim the cultural importance of early women's writing in all subject areas. Its emphasis is on access and long-term preservation of textual data. Coverage from 1400 to 1850.

NINES
(Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship): Great site that aggregates and searches a variety of databases covering 19th century scholarship. It currently includes 961,740 peer‑reviewed digital objects from 105 federated sites.
Connected Histories (British History Sources, 1500-1900)
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
The British Library Online Gallery
Includes access to maps, photography, and other online documents.
EuroDocs, Britain 1816 - 1918
With links to full text online documents, such as letters, maps, cartoons, and proceedings concerning British history.