Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Writing papers for 1st and 2nd year undergrads (Science, Math, Psyc)

Articles

The boxes below cover various aspects of finding articles, including techniques and places for finding popular and scholarly articles.

Also, the library has many subject library guides. For example, there are ones for earth sciences, biology, and chemistry. These will give you ideas about databases to search for articles.

VIDEO TUTORIAL: 7 SEARCH TOOLS FOR LITERATURE DATABASES

This video tutorial  gives a generic discussion of search tools used in many library databases. Not every database uses all these tools.   

It is important to determine how to apply these search tools in the specific database relevant to your writing and research. Lehigh's library guides help you identify relevant databases for your particular topic. Go to the library homepage and then click on the "How to..." link. 

Scholarly vs. Popular

Read Evaluating resources: Scholarly & Popular Sources from Berkeley, U Cal.

Also, read this chart:

 

 

(Image from Randolph Community College Library)

Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Magazine and  Newspaper articles

Popular articles from magazines and newspapers can:

  • provide general background information before you turn to academic journal literature;
  • identify late breaking news about important scientific discoveries or developments;
  • point to academic studies that are getting lots of attention; a newspaper or magazine or other popular publication may give a journalistic account of a scientific research project, mention its principal researchers, and mention the academic journal in which the research was published.

NOTE: some of the resources below cover scholarly articles as well as popular sources. See the page of this library guide devoted to scholarly articles. Below is a partial listing--see A to Z Database list and library catalog

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles:

  • Can bring you to the front line of research
  • Go into a lot more depth typically
  • Often popular articles don’t have as comprehensive a review of the literature.  One hallmark of a good journal article is that it has al literature review.

Subject library guides will identify databases where you can search for scholarly articles.

Reading Scientific Articles

Here is a sampler of items that a Google search revealed:

Review Articles

Review articles give a bird's eye view of a field or niche within a field. They can contain valuable bibliography. The titles of these articles often have a slightly higher level or "generic" quality than the titles of  articles reporting very specific research findings.

 The science librarian can help you locate review articles in such databases as Web of Science and  Medline.

Also, see Annual Reviews, which is dedicated to this type of article.  Tip:  sort the search results in descending date order so you see the most recent articles for your topic.)

VIDEO TUTORIAL: WEB OF SCIENCE

Web of Science video tutorial.   Topics covered:  wildcards, Booleans, and phrase searching; using cited/cited searching, finding review articles. NOTE: this tutorial exemplifies points made in the video tutorial "7 Search Tools for Lliterature Databases."

VIDEO TUTORIAL: USING LEHIGH LINKS TO ACCESS FULL TEXT

In library databases, you will see "Lehigh Links", which enable you to get out to the full text,of articles or order an article that is not available electronically. This brief tutorial video explains how to use Lehigh Links. 

VIDEO TUTORIAL: HAVE CITATION, GET ARTICLE

This video tutorial shows you how to get to the full text of an article if you have a citation.  

It relies on using Google Scholar for this purpose, in conjunction with Lehigh Links, from which you can get to the full text or order the article via "ILLiad".

Other ways to find the full text of an article:

  • If your citation has a "DOI", put it into a google search. Make sure VPN is on.
  • Use ASA,, which you can search from the library homepage.. Select journal title from the drag down, put in the journal title, and then search for the journal record. In it you can see the electronic and print holdings.
  • From the library homepage, search on the journal using the E-journals link. 
  • Use the citation linker. Put in the citation details. This will get you out to the Lehigh Links menu. 

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.