Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding a Topic
* Scan current issues of journals. The articles will be topical; you'll find at least one "authoritative" source; articles will be pointers to other sources.
* What's in the news? Also topical, but may not be "searchable" because some of this will be proprietary ("secret") or not yet even in production.
* Keyword search in a simple database. Topical, searchable, but requires reading and weeding.
* Browse the Web. Topical, but highly suspect. Use the news and the journals/magazines to verify facts.
Have a Topic in Mind?
If you already have a topic, either one assigned to you or one you chose, you will find still these techniques useful.
Instead of browsing likely magazines at the outset, perform a quick search in one of the "article databases" and note which publications often have articles similar to what you are researching. Add those publications to your alert services (email, RSS, etc.).
This list of magazines (short articles meant for the practitioner) includes core and related fields.
Chemical & Engineering News (CEN)
Often covers environmental concerns. Includes pharmaceuticals.
Civil Engineering (ASCE)
The professional magazine of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Short, practical, illustrations. See the recent periodicals section on the first floor of the library for latest issues. Earlier issues are in the periodicals section at 620.5 C58 (second floor North of Fairchild-Martindale Library).
ENR (Engineering News Record)
A major civil engineering magazine for over 100 years. Often tells what went wrong as well as what worked. Access is by login/password; scroll the linked page for the current login information
Subtitled "Science and Policy for Sustainable Development." Water, air, soil pollution; sustainable development.
Environmental Earth Sciences
for international coverage of specific environmental concerns
cross-disciplinary (sciences, engineering, policy, society) approach to environmental concerns
Environmental Monitoring and Assessment
techniques and equipment for environmental monitoring plus data and analysis
international emphasis; combines technical and policy aspects of environmental issues
Environmental Science & Technology
one of the earliest and best journals devoted to the environment, but can be highly technical; a mix of research and general articles
Journal of Urban Planning and Development
environmental planning, aesthetics, policy, as well as the engineering aspects of urban infrastructure
Water, Environment & Technology
Similar to Civil Engineering magazine. Abstracts only.