Library Guides: SOC 138: Sociology of Reality TV: Find Background Information

Reference Books

Online
Print

Encyclopedia of Social Problems by Vincent N. Parrillo (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2008
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology by William C. Cockerham (Editor) A comprehensive collection of original essays by leading medical sociologists from around the world, fully updated to reflect contemporary research and global health issues The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology is an authoritative overview of the most recent research, major theoretical approaches, and central issues and debates within the field. Bringing together contributions from an international team of leading scholars, this wide-ranging volume summarizes significant new developments and discusses a broad range of globally-relevant topics. The Companion's twenty-eight chapters contain timely, theoretically-informed coverage of the coronavirus pandemic and emerging diseases, bioethics, healthcare delivery systems, health disparities associated with migration, social class, gender, and race. It also explores mental health, the family, religion, and many other real-world health concerns. The most up-to-date and comprehensive single-volume reference on the key concepts and contemporary issues in medical sociology, this book: Presents thematically-organized essays by authors who are recognized experts in their fields Features new chapters reflecting state-of-the-art research and contemporary issues relevant to global health Covers vital topics such as current bioethical debates and the global effort to cope with the coronavirus pandemic Discusses the important relationship between culture and health in a global context Provide fresh perspectives on the sociology of the body, biomedicalization, health lifestyle theory, doctor-patient relations, and social capital and health The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology is essential reading for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in medical sociology, health studies, and health care, as well as for academics, researchers, and practitioners wanting to keep pace with new developments in the field.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2021
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor); Wendy Wiedenhoft Murphy (Editor) The new, updated edition of the authoritative and comprehensive survey of modern sociology The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an authoritative survey of the major topics, current and emerging trends, and contemporary issues in the study of human social relationships and institutions. A collection of contributions from globally-recognized scholars and experts explore the theoretical and methodological foundations of sociology, new and established debates, and the most current research in the field. Broad in scope, this book covers a multitude of topics ranging from crime, urbanization, sexuality, and education to new questions surrounding big data, authoritarian capitalism, and the rise of nationalism. Since the first edition of the Companion was published, new developments have emerged and new problems have been created such as the omnipresence of social media, political and institutional upheaval, and the global refugee and immigration crises. This revised and updated second edition describes and explains social changes that have occurred in the past several years, both within the field of sociology and society as a whole. Previous material has been updated to reflect current research, while eleven new chapters address topics including feminist theory, debt and social change, and armed conflict and war. This comprehensive volume:  Offers an engaging and accessible guide to the field of sociology, revised and updated for the second edition Presents wide-ranging, comprehensive coverage of the discipline Explores issues of contemporary relevance such as digital media and consumption Reflects state-of-the-art scholarship and contemporary debates New chapters for the second edition cover essential topics including feminist theory, armed conflict, big data, authoritarian capitalism, debt and social change, and the rise of nationalism The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for academics and graduate students, researchers, scholars, and educators in the discipline of sociology and allied fields such as anthropology, human geography, political science, and psychology. 
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019

21st Century Sociology by Clifton D. Bryant (Editor); Dennis L. Peck (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
Also available as an ebook.

Background Information

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for background information and getting started on a topic, CQ Researcher encompasses original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
Covers a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
SAGE Knowledge Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
Online books, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles across the social and hard sciences.

SOC 138: Sociology of Reality TV

Social Sciences Librarian

Reference Books

Background Information

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift