Library Guides: POLS 402: Methods of Policy Analysis: Finding Datasets

ICPSR

ICPSR is the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research and is the world's largest social science data archive.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

ICPSR is an international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. Lehigh University has an institutional membership to ICPSR.

Keep in mind that the datasets archived at ICPSR are formatted for use with statistical software such as SPSS, SAS and Stata, etc.

ICPSR
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest archive of computer-readable social science data.

As a member institution, Lehigh faculty and students have direct and free access to download data. The data resources include but are not limited to surveys of values, attitudes, health, race and religion, political exit polls and voting behavior, data on crime, and consumer income.

ICPSR YouTube Channel
Presents Webinars and tutorials on accessing and using ICPSR resources. The Webinars cover a variety of topics, including finding what you want on the ICPSR website, analyzing ICPSR data online, creating setup files for SPSS, debugging SAS, SPSS, and Stata code, etc.
ICPSR User Support
Includes a myriad ways to get help including FAQs, support staff, webinars and tutorials.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap
Online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more from communities across the US

PolicyMap YouTube Channel
Contains recordings of demos, webinars, case studies etc.

Sage Data

Sage Data
(Formally known as Data Planet)
Search and browse through 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 75 public and private sources covering sixteen subject areas, focused on social sciences.

Sage Data Research Guide
Make the most of Sage Data using the tips provided in this guide from the vendor. Information is available organized by discipline.

Social Explorer

Video from Grant's Crime Lab.

Social Explorer Research Guide
Make the most of Social Explorer using the links and tips provided in this guide from the vendor. Information is organized by subject area.

Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create custom maps and reports. Covers 1790 to present.

Statistics and Census Information

Statista

Data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
U.S. Census Data
Provides access to US Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.

Note: American FactFinder decommissioned in 2020.

POLS 402: Methods of Policy Analysis

ICPSR

PolicyMap

Sage Data

Social Explorer

Statistics and Census Information

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift