Library Guides: PSYC 396: Cognitive Neuroscience of Memory: 3. Use a library database to discover literature

Tips

Try to find a very focused topic, then broaden it if necessary.
One interesting type of paper you can write can involve finding a scholarly debate and then offering your own assessment of it.
Use the "Term Finder" in PsycINFO to search for "memory", then look at the narrower terms under that broad term for more specific topics relating to memory
Consider using Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts if your topic involves language in some way; see the Thesaurus for "memory"
Look for heavily cited articles to get a sense of important/high impact research in your area of interest.

Relevant databases are listed below.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 40+ journals published by the American Psychological Association.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
MEDLINE (via PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of journal articles in life sciences, especially focusing on biomedical areas. Part of PubMed's larger set of resources. See MEDLINE searching library guide off library homepage.